anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Are we human or are we denser?

Yes, I know the lyrics to the song say “dancer” and not “denser”. But, for the longest time, that was the debate.

Everyone’s got hash tags for their ootd (outfit of the day), I think my hash tag for totd (thought of the day) has got to be about how we relate with one another in the corporate world.

I’ve been taught to treat corporate acquaintances with civility at arm’s length, and never, ever as a friend.

As it happens, I was on the receiving end of a rather misplaced comment made by a colleague who seemed to believe it was in her place to make derogatory personal remarks.

I responded kindly with little emotion, dismissing her stinging comments with a quick shrug and a smile. That, however, started the whirlwind of emotions: who does she think she is; why does she make such remarks; why attack me with baseless accusations, and so on.

After a few minutes, I paused in my thought-track and wondered how many times I have actually treated working associates as fellow human beings with feelings and emotions. I mean, am I guilty of treating another human being with indifference much like machines are tasked to churn productively and prove results? It seems, in our world of “digital everything”, I just might have misplaced some manners and lost a few social skills too.

I’ve often observed the group dynamics at a dinner table – someone whips out a smartphone, signaling the end of any or all conversation at the table. I, too, have been guilty of this from time to time, thanks to location-based apps like 4square and Instagram.

But I digress.

I usually make it a point to greet people I come into contact with, be it while riding the same lift or whilst waiting at the lift lobby. Somehow, this practice doesn’t quite translate well in my current work place. More often than not, I get blank stare responses, as I see them trying to figure if I just greeted them or scolded them. Quite bizarre behaviour, really.

I guess then it doesn’t really matter how kindness goes unreciprocated so long as I haven’t betrayed my conscience. THAT is my reality. Alternatively, I could very well have responded to my colleague with an equally snarky remark about her grossly inappropriate choice of earrings. But then, when would the unkindness end? After all, war begets war, violence begets violence.

So yes, I’ll keep dancing to my own beat, thank you very much. I’ll be my own hero and pay those naysayers no heed.

Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that. – Martin Luther King Jr.

20131119-002915.jpg

5 comments on “Are we human or are we denser?

  1. DrVara
    November 19, 2013

    Yup. Don’t bother about those people. Just not worth your time and effort. Be yourself. That’s important. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

  2. Everyday Power
    November 20, 2013

    Wow! Great blog post! Keep them coming!

    • spattiselanno
      November 21, 2013

      Delighted to receive your positive response. Thank you!

  3. peregrinatewithme
    November 22, 2013

    Nicely written. As Jiminy Cricket will advice you, listen to your own conscience. Be kind to yourself and be kind because you want to. Can’t please everyone at the end of the day. πŸ™‚

    PS: We have the same blog skin!

    • spattiselanno
      November 26, 2013

      Definitely true! And thanks for the vote of confidence too πŸ˜‰

      Checked out your blog and you have amazing, amazing posts on there! In ❀ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

