anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Of beauty products, Michelle Phan and 13rushes

I think I watch too much YouTube videos.

I’ve recently discovered the wonders (and some pleasures) girls get from playing around with makeup to create a myriad of different looks. Previously, I have only used makeup at a minimum (and usually only to fulfil my work obligations). See, I was brought up in a male-dominated environment and schooled to think that makeup was for girly-girls albeit vainpots and bascially, pussies; and the world was a tough place, unsuited for faint-hearted, shallow wusses. And so, I developed a disapproval for make-up and “self-absorbed” women whose only interests were knitting and cosmetics.

Boy, how wrong I have been all these years!

It started when I had to replenish my foundation and found myself wondering into Sephora. It seemed like a store for narcissists, so excessive with its rows and rows of beauty products! I kept wondering why women needed so many products just to look decent. I was also confused by the array and variety as well. After all, I only needed a refill of my foundation and was happy to leave just a promptly as I had walked in. And, as my luck would have it, the product I needed was no longer stocked or in production and I had to find a replacement. I was completely inundated with the search for the perfect foundation. Oh, the science and process involved in matching foundation shades. Besides, I was way too embarassed to ask the in-store beauty assistants so I went home and did what I always do: I googled. And out popped a string of YouTube videos. I clicked on one, then another. Soon, I developed an addiction for beauty videos. The women looked glamorous: always well-groomed with perfect hair and make-up, and they seemed to know so much about various products. I was clueless about what they were talking and that got me intrigued.

So, in the month of October, I found myself strangely attracted to the wonders that Sephora had. I started swatching and smelling and touching every beauty sample I could get my hands on. I was the wide-eyed girl in a candy store for the first time. I also started buying product after product. I developed an addiction for beauty products: be it their interesting packaging or design. I also started believing their beauty claims. What a noob.

This is also when I learnt of Michelle Phan, top beauty blogger. I also discovered how many women aspired to be just like her, reaping career success and popularity via YouTube. She really is quite the beauty guru, having since started her own line of makeup.

Anyway, I just wanted to share a recent discovery. Since I accidentally stepped into the world of beauty products, I have been on the search for a set of make-up brushes that are vegan-friendly and cruelty-free seeing as to how I love animals and would NEVER want to be using some dead animal’s fur to apply products to my face. I chanced on 13rushes, a Singapore-based company that produces cruelty-free, synthetic makeup brushes. Here is my experience shopping with this company.

I placed my order on 21 November and received the brush set on 26 November via SingPost registered mail. The total came up to S$128.65 including shipping with a 13% discount code from a local blogger.

Here are the pictures from the package:

Here is the box!

Here is the box!

All the pretty ladies lined up in a row!

All the pretty ladies lined up in a row!

The sweet, hand-written note which was included in my pack.

The sweet, hand-written note which was included in my pack.

Brushes came bubble-wrapped and sealed.

Brushes came bubble-wrapped and sealed.

photo_4

photo_5

photo_6

photo_7

photo_8

After unboxing the brushes, I cleansed the entire set with Dr Bronner’s Magic Soap.

20131127-182753.jpg 20131127-182758.jpg

Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps are synonymous with Old-World quality and time-honored simplicity, a soap-making tradition that can be traced back to 1858. Renowned for their quality, versatility and eco-friendliness, Dr. Bronner's Magic Soap is awesome for cleaning brushes!

Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soaps are synonymous with Old-World quality and time-honored simplicity, a soap-making tradition that can be traced back to 1858. Renowned for their quality, versatility and eco-friendliness, Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap is awesome for cleaning brushes!

Castile soap is a name used in English-speaking countries for olive oil based soap made in a style similar to that originating in the Castile region of Spain. – – Wikipedia

Here I am drying them out here.

20131203-142227.jpg

My first impression is how soft the bristles feel against my face. I am also impressed with the quality of the brushes. They seem to be well-made, with none of the brushes testing to be wobbly or coming apart from the handles. The handles are painted with a deep purple and feature gold coloured ferrules. I also noticed during the first wash that neither did the bristles shed nor did any colour bleed from the bristles. So far, I am quite impressed with what I am seeing.

I have not tried them with any products so I wouldn’t be able to tell if they pick up and apply products well. Since I big on cruelty-free products and local enterprising efforts, I will be using this brush set over the next few weeks and writing my review of them soon enough!

8 comments on “Of beauty products, Michelle Phan and 13rushes

  1. meaningful beauty reviews
    December 4, 2013

    I thought it was going to become some dull matured post, however it truly compensated for my time.

  2. Must Have Boxes
    December 4, 2013

    I love Youtube beauty videos!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

    • spattiselanno
      December 5, 2013

      Yes, totally agreed! Reviews, looks and what’s in my bag type videos are my favourite. What about you?

  3. Pingback: Year-End/ Christmas Beauty Haul 2013 | anyhowonly

  4. Jeanette
    February 13, 2014

    Was contemplating if I should get these brushes. 🙂
    And, if you like vegan or cruelty-free makeup, you should check out my new start-up: https://www.facebook.com/StarsAndCharmsSG
    (Sorry about the shameless posting :x)

    • spattiselanno
      February 15, 2014

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving me a comment! I have been rather happy with the brush set so far and yes, I will check out your new startup for sure. Good luck with it! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Bdellium Tools Yellow Bambu Brushes | anyhowonly

Leave a Reply

