anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Limited Edition 2013 Holiday Palettes!

Last night was a happy parcel night for me! I finally received my brand new Smashbox Wondervision Mega Palette! As part of my order, I also got the Too Faced Jingle All the Way makeup palette that includes a pretty mint-coloured iPhone 5 case.

Parcel Unboxed

Tightly bubble-wrapped to prevent breakage

Both items came via eBay and was so happy to see my parcel packed so well!

Items Unboxed

Too Faced Jingle All the Way and Smashbox Wondervision Mega Palette

I’ve watched and re-watched EmilyNoel83’s Beauty Broadcast Express review of this palette on YouTube and was intrigued by how pigmented, soft and buttery the eyeshadows seemed so I decided to try them out. However, this palette is not available in Singapore, so I had to purchase mine on eBay. I placed my order on 26 Nov and received my parcel on 5 Dec, very decent speed considering this item was shipped all the way from Sacremento, California! Along the way, communication from this seller was forthright and constant – especially when I got a tad paranoid with tracking my parcel during shipping. I was also worried that my makeup palettes were going to arrive all broken and damaged.

Smashbox Wondervision Mega Palette

Smashbox Limited Edition Wondervision Mega Palette 2013

The Smashbox Wondervision Mega Palette includes:
· 30 Eye Shadows (Blue, Citrine, Dark Blue, Golden, Green, Mint, Orange, Peach, Pearl, Pewter, Red, Silver, Slate, Turquoise, Umber, Almond, Beige, Black, Brown, Chestnut, Chocolate, Fawn, Glitz, Grey, Lavender, Maize, Pink, Purple, Taupe, Violet)
· 3 Blushes (Baby Pink, Sherbet, Glow)
· 1 Bronzer in Bronze

As a bonus, this holiday palette also comes with the Wondervision Get the Look cards which feature personalised looks with the very cool colour slide system: a card that helps you select any three eyeshadow colours on the palette to create a complete look!

I tried the top three eyeshadow shades today: Beige, Almond and Golden, and used Sherbet on my cheeks.

Image

Here is my look for today:

My FOTD (Face Of The Day)

My FOTD (Face Of The Day) – Pardon the harsh lighting which cast a shadow on my face here.

Here is a closer look of the eyeshadows.

Here is a closer look of the eyeshadows.

And oh my – am I happy to say, as a first-time user of Smashbox cosmetics, I am pleasantly surprised with the quality of their eyeshadows! The colours are vibrant yet pigmented. They transfer so easily from the palette to my brush and then onto my eyelids. I never had to tap my brush exceedingly into the palette to pick up the colours! The eyeshadows also applied very creamily onto my eyelids.

So far, I have yet to try the Too Faced Jingle All the Way makeup palette. I will definitely do so in a day or two and post another FOTD look then.

The Too Faced Jingle All The Way makeup palette contains 11 day-to-night shadows, one bronzer and a blush with a limited edition iPhone 5 case included. The case was designed by celebrity decorator and TV personality Mary McDonald and is available in two different versions: a mint with gold dot case and a pink and gold chevron case. I don’t think either is available in Singapore.

Too Faced Jingle All The Way Makeup Palette

Too Faced Jingle All The Way Makeup Palette

“Award winning Los Angeles-based designer Mary McDonald is one of today’s most sought after tastemakers. She is the international star of Bravo TV’s “Million Dollar Decorators” series and is consistently ranked as one of House Beautiful’s “Top 100 Designers.” She has been the recipient of the prestigious Stars of Design Award and has been honored as one of the top 25 designers by Veranda Magazine.” – Mary McDonald website

Although I haven’t tried the palette out, I am happy using the very festive-appropriate mint iPhone 5 case (with gold & white dots and Too Faced logo). I really love how creative the packaging for this palette is: with the iPhone case worked into the design of the palette. It really is my first encounter where beauty products have included a lifestyle element into their packaging. Obviously, not everyone is an iPhone user but the ones who are, will truly benefit from this palette. Standard iPhone cases like this one retail from S$5 and although this is only an aesthetic case, it’s still a very lovely inclusion. I’m really looking forward to trying out this palette… *rubs hands together with glee*

Image

I hope this short review of sorts will help anyone who may be in the market to purchase these palettes or who is even looking for reliable eBay sellers to purchase makeup from. So thanks for looking!

On a side note, I think I’m well on my way to become quite the bona fide beauty-obsessed nut.

3 comments on “Limited Edition 2013 Holiday Palettes!

  1. Jo
    December 9, 2013

    The smashbox palette is pretty!
    Suggestion: prolly it would be good to take a (closeup) pic of the eye-shadows on your eyelid with your eyelid closed?

  2. spattiselanno
    December 17, 2013

    Hi there! Thanks for your comment – will definitely heed your advice for future posts of pictures featuring eyeshadow applications! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Year-End/ Christmas Beauty Haul 2013 | anyhowonly

Leave a Reply

