anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

My Bucket List

The Bucket List is a 2007 American comedy-drama film starring Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman. The main plot follows two terminally ill men (portrayed by Nicholson and Freeman) on their road trip with a wish list of things to do before they “kick the bucket”. If you haven’t watched the movie, maybe this trailer might help.

I guess it was these types of movies that spawned a generation of people who started living ‘in the now’ alongside many other philosophies. What struck me most of this whole movie was the one line that said, “Find the joy in your life.”

See, I grew up with Asian children who studied in international schools, speaking English with an accent and not doing the somewhat traditional local things that most Singaporean children did. For instance, I broke started playing with RC (Remote-Comtrolled) cars at age 2 and got onto my first tricycle when I was 14 months-old. I remember all this because my folks kept all my embarrassing photos and never stopped telling me those growing-up stories. Given my circumstances, I was quite the tom boy. I would fight with the boarders who towered over me and be forced to watch ‘WRC Rally Championship’ runs on the telly instead of ‘My Little Pony’. I had to learn to push back when I was bullied by pre-teenage boys or risk physical harm. So naturally, when my mum gave me a Barbie doll when I turned 8, I asked her what the doll was for. Looking back, that doll symbolised the countless things I would use to try and fit into different environments.

I always felt like I never did fit in. Even today.

So, I thought I would share my bucket list of things I think would give me joy in my life. Don’t get me wrong, I have already done enough to not blink if and when I am staring death in the face. But to be able to do these things, would just be the icing on my cake. Here goes in no particular order:

  1. Stunts on a motorcycle: including wheelies, stoppies, bar tricks, burn outs and acrobatics.
  2. Free fall – on my own.
  3. See the Northern Lights
  4. Grudge match – squaring off in a ring match against my nemesis
  5. Swim with sharks
  6. Walk with a tiger
  7. Free climb
  8. Base jump
  9. Experience a riot
  10. Race a motorcycle for a day

There were more, but since I have checked them off my list, I won’t be sharing. I do know that I have never shared this list (until now) as I have always preferred to keep my thoughts private (and largely also for fear that one day, if I did share this, someone would hold me to my word and maybe I’m getting too old for that shit).

Here is the video of (Amy Purdy, US Paralympic Team Snowboarder, Para-Snowboarder, athlete, actor, Motivational Speaker, Amazing Race Contestant Season 21) whose story is just so inspiring.

What does your list look like?

You'll never know until you try.

You’ll never know until you try.

4 comments on “My Bucket List

  1. Anthony Thompson
    December 9, 2013

    Wow.. It seems you got number 9 on your list done?

  2. spattiselanno
    December 17, 2013

    Hi there! Yes, it is uncanny how this post went up a day before the riot broke out.

  3. Pingback: My Liebster Award! | anyhowonly

Leave a Reply

