anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Year-End/ Christmas Beauty Haul 2013

I have become quite the make-up hoarder.

Case in point, all the gifts I have either gifted myself with or been gifted with, have been somewhat make-up related (shown below).

In my defence, I will say that the year-end is the best time to stock up on beauty products given that many (limited edition) bundles are created as gift ideas and most of these bundles are value-for-money. But any way you slice it, I am guilty of hoarding. So here goes…

The first bundle I got is the Lorac Rockin’ Red Hot PRO set.

Image

This is the Lorac Pro Rockin’ Red Hot Holiday 2013 Set

Inside the Lorac Pro Rockin' Red Hot Set

Inside the Lorac Pro Rockin’ Red Hot Set

Naturally, this set is not available for purchase in Singapore as it is an Ulta exclusive. I got mine from this eBay seller bellafl*ra who ships worldwide.

The next item I got was the Cargo Cargo Vintage Escape Fall Eye Shadow Palette. The packaging is fairly sleek and somewhat resembles the Laura Mercier Artist’s Palette with its caramel-colored faux leather finish featuring a magnetic strip closure along the front. Although this was a fall palette, it contained all the shades that appealed to me: 2 shades of neutrals, smoky browns and smooth charcoal. The palette also includes a dual-ended brush with a shader and slanted liner.

Cargo Vintage Escape Fall Eye Shadow Palette

Cargo Vintage Escape Fall Eye Shadow Palette

See, I’ve been refraining from purchasing the Urban Decay Naked palette and have been hunting for alternatives. I would believe that both the Cargo and the Lorac Pro palettes are good alternatives to the Naked palette.  Here is what the Lorac Pro palette looks like.

Lorac Pro Palette

Lorac Pro Palette

I like how both palettes have a good mix of matt and shimmer shades. The Lorac Pro Palette includes eight shimmer and eight matte shades of shadow while the Cargo Vintage Escape palette contains five matt shades and seven shimmer shades. The Urban Decay Naked palette only features two matt shades and a whopping 10 shimmer shades. Unlike some ladies, I much prefer matt shades over shimmer shades as I feel the shimmery shadows tend to ‘age’ me somewhat.

In a previous post, I got the Too Faced Jingle to the Girls palette which comes with a iPhone 5 case and the Smashbox Wondervision Mega Palette.

Too Faced Jingle All The Way Set

Too Faced Jingle All The Way Se

Smashbox Wondervision Mega Palette

Smashbox Wondervision Mega Palette

What’s a girl to do with so much eyeshadow and no proper brushes to facilitate the application process? Well, I got a new set of brushes too.

Sixplus Pro Brush

15-piece Sixplus Pro Brush Set

I have been contemplating the Sigma brush sets but figured that I really wanted to try something which claimed to be more value-for-money. If you do a search for reviews on these brushes online, you will see that some users have claimed the quality of these brushes rival the quality of some Sigma brush sets. So, I had to see for myself.

Here are two reviews you might like to watch:

  1. Dominique Amor’s First Impression – Colorful Online Brushes 
  2. Charlie Joe’s Sigma Brush Dupes – Sixplus Brush Review – Colorfulonline

The Sixplus Pro Brush Set is available on eBay colorfulstore09’s store amongst a variety of other make-up brushes and brush sets. I got a bit carried away and decided that I wanted the 15-piece set as opposed to a simple 5-piece set and also decided that I needed a brush bag along for easy portability although I almost never take any make-up with me on a regular day. This was going to be a ‘just in case’ I have to haul lock, stock and barrel with me on work trips.

The purchase was made on 25 Nov and I received my item on Dec 11, just two days shy of three weeks. I have been told that Chinese shipping is somewhat slower. I have never purchased any make-up items from China but I like how it was shipped with the brushes individually sealed and properly packed, despite the somewhat long wait for it to arrive. Tracking the package was nearly impossible but this seller was definitely quite forthcoming with her communication, and always replied any email queries I sent.

Anyway, my first impression of this brush set is, is that the quality of the brushes definitely DO NOT rival those of my first brush set  from 13rushes. You can read more about the brush set here.

The last item I received was the Stila Artist Essential Set. Not to be confused with the Stila Artist’s Signature Set. 

Stila Artist Essential Set

Stila Artist Essential Set

The packaging on this set is fun and quirky. The box is made to resemble the wooden boxes artists use to tote all their brushes and paints. The set contains four small eyeshadow palettes (with four shades per palette), a Color Lip & Cheek Cream, a Deluxe Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick, a Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner, a #9 Brush and a How-To Card.

Inside the Stila Artist Essential Set

Inside the Stila Artist Essential Set

Because I have all this stuff to use, I am actually looking forward to all the parties and events where I can play dress-up.

Thanks for reading, and yes, I will post reviews of individual items!

Have a very Merry Christmas and a fabulously showstopping New Year!

2 comments on “Year-End/ Christmas Beauty Haul 2013

  1. นำเข้าจีน
    December 28, 2013

    Great web site you have got here.. It’s difficult
    to find high quality writing like yours these days.

    I honestly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  2. spattiselanno
    February 5, 2014

    Hi there! Thanks for stopping by, reading my post and leaving me a positive comment! Take care!

Leave a Reply

