anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Rebecca Minkoff Mini M.A.C Bag from Doorstep Luxury

Yesterday was a happy parcel day because I received my Rebecca Minkoff Mini M.A.C bag from Doorstep Luxury. Sadly, I was disappointed with the final product I received in my parcel.

I got it from Doorstep Luxury,  an online multi-brand luxury accessories retailer based out of Singapore. They sell various lifestyle prodcuts including bags and accessories, jewellery and even shoes from a wide variety of brands (both local and international).

This was my first experience buying from them and my initial impression was that their online shopping portal is easy to navigate and worked well on my mobile phone. I loved how simple it was to navigate the site. Each selected image of the product reflected full screen on my mobile and the final transaction was easy and smooth. Given their shop location, I did not want to pick up my item in-store, instead, I chose to have it delivered to my door-step (which is their name) for free. Naturally, I was eagerly anticipating receipt of my item in the mail. I placed my order on Sunday, 5 January and received my order on Tuesday, 7 January. I thought I would’ve received my item on Monday instead since they used a courier service instead of regular post. But, no matter, I was happy to get my item.

The parcel was shipped in bubble wrap, included my tax invoice, all the care cards, a dust bag and of course, my new purchase! I was so delighted, I couldn’t wait to take a picture of the unopened item so here it is open. My bag was placed inside the Rebecca Minkoff dust bag, wrapped with tissue paper and subsequently wrapped in bubble wrap. It didn’t come in a box or with any carrier.

Woots! My (opened) parcel from Doorstep Luxury

Woots! My (opened) parcel from Doorstep Luxury

Here is the bag in all her glory. She measures 23cm (L) x 16.5cm (H) x 4cm (D) and comes with an adjustable, removable chain link strap reminiscent of Chanel 2.55 bags.

Rebecca Minkoff Mini M.A.C bag in Black with light gold hardware

Rebecca Minkoff Mini M.A.C bag in Black with light gold hardware

There are a few versions of this bag. This is possibly the 2013 version with the B&W interior with only one inside flat pocket. Some older versions have dual inside flat pockets and I understand the leather tassels are somewhat slimmer than the current ones and also have a single stitch over them to prevent them from falling off.

photo_3

No inside dual pockets

photo_2

“Made in China” tag

photo_2 (2)

My bag came with additional leather tassels!

Tassel has no stitching

Tassel has no stitching

I was convinced of the versatility of the bag and loved the idea of something small I could tote around that was roomy enough to fit my daily necessities and could be carried in a number of ways: over the shoulder, as a crossbody, hand-held as a clutch and shortened as a sling. Here are a few modelling shots, do pardon the lousy lighting and poor background.

photo_3 (2)

Bag worn crossbody

Sling option

Sling option with one side shortened

Shoulder option

Shoulder option

So here’s what REALLY happened.

I was disappointed with the condition of the bag I had just received!

After taking out my new bag, I inspected it for any possible faults. To my dismay, I found a number of scratches on the leather and other indentations and imperfections all over the bag. The leather was not smooth instead it was full of stretch marks and other sorts of dents made from either poor storage or poor handling.

photo_10

What looks like finger nail marks to me

photo_7

Possible production fault – studs are dented

photo_1 (2)

Leather finish is bumpy with loads of indentations and imperfections all over the bag just like the one marked out in red

Who wants to pay full price for a new item and receive something that was either the display piece or handled poorly which resulted in so many imperfections? The bag wasn’t even shipped in a box to prevent its supple leather from retaining any marks that happen with postal mishandling.

Whilst I am happy with the bag, I am not at all pleased with my purchase from Doorstep Luxury. My advice to all those ladies in Singapore who may wish to purchase this bag, please do so via Rebecca Minkoff’s website (here) as they ship worldwide for a small fee.

On a side note, before I considered investing in this piece, I chanced on a ‘training’ bag which I found at Cotton On. It is a knock-off of the original Rebecca Minkoff Mini M.A.C I got on sale at S$20. The bag measures the same as the Mini M.A.C but is made of PU leather and features gun-metal hardware. They even copied the signature Rebecca Minkoff flap pattern on the front.

Cotton On Knock-Off

Cotton On Knock-Off

I’m not sure I will get a refund or exchange on my Mini M.A.C from Doorstep Luxury but since I will be using the bag when I go riding, she is going to get all scuffed up anyways. I’m just saying that it would’ve been such a better experience if the bag I received in my parcel was brand-spanking-new and this is a review of my shopping experience with Doorstep Luxury.

I calculated the overall shipping charges if I had chosen to buy directly from the Official Rebecca Minkoff website and honestly, I would’ve saved myself about S$14 and all the heartache. But the trade-off was that I would have had to wait close to nine days for my item to arrive. So, it depends on one’s preference I guess.

I hope this review of my shopping experience has been helpful to those contemplating purchasing anything from this particular online retailer or anyone who is considering purchasing this bag!

Thanks for reading!

20 comments on “Rebecca Minkoff Mini M.A.C Bag from Doorstep Luxury

  1. irma booher
    January 23, 2014

    Do u know if an authentic rebecca minkoff satchel can or will say made in china on the inside lining?

    • spattiselanno
      January 27, 2014

      Hi there! There is a tag in mine that says ‘Made in China’. I believe the newer ones are such.

  2. wrinkless cream
    May 16, 2014

    Hey just wanted tto give you a quick heads up. The text in your content seem to be running off the screen
    in Opera. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to
    do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.

    The style and design look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved soon.
    Many thanks

  3. Highly descriptive article, I loved that
    a lot. Will there be a part 2?

    • spattiselanno
      May 22, 2014

      Hello there, thanks for dropping by. Unfortunately, this will be my review for now. Perhaps I might do a follow up after a year of using the bag. We’ll see 🙂

  4. top anti
    May 17, 2014

    Keеp this going please, ɡreat job!

  5. Saved as a favorite, I ljke yoսr web site!

  6. Right Anti
    May 17, 2014

    І was able to find ցood information from your blog posts.

  7. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to know where u got this from.
    kudos

    • spattiselanno
      May 22, 2014

      Hi there, this theme is available for free on wordpress – it is called ‘The Forever Theme’. I only customised some of the pictures and layout features on my own. Thank you for dropping by and leaving me a comment. I hope to see you back here again. Have a great day!

  8. skin c
    May 18, 2014

    I leave a гesponse whenever I like a article on a sitye or if I have something to valuable to contribute to thе discussion. Usuаlly іt’s a resulot oof the ѕincerness
    displayed iin tҺhe artіcle I looked at. And onn this pοѕt Rebecca
    Minkoff Mini M.A.C Bag from Doorstep Luxury
    | anyhoԝоnlү. I was actually moved enough to leave a comment 😉 I actually doo have a couple of questios for you iif it’s okay.
    Could it be simply me or doeѕ it give the imрresѕion likle some of the remarks appear likе left bу braon dead people?
    😛 And, if you are posting at additional online ѕites,
    I would like to follow you. Would you make a lis very onne of all your communal pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or tѡitter feed?

    • spattiselanno
      May 22, 2014

      Hi there, I only blog here. Currently, I do not have a Facebook page. You may choose to follow me on Twitter, I go by the handle (at)anyhowonly. Thank you for stopping by and leaving me a comment! Have a great day 🙂

  9. Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have truly
    loved browsing your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing for your feed and I hope you
    write once more soon!

    • spattiselanno
      May 22, 2014

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving me a comment! Looking forward to seeing you here more often. Have a great day!

    • spattiselanno
      May 22, 2014

      Hi there, thank you for stopping by, leaving me a comment and for following my blog! I hope to see you on here more often, have a great day! 🙂

  10. Lina
    January 18, 2015

    Hi, did you try contact the retailer for exchange? i was actually thinking of getting this bag from them until i saw your post.. great detail picture thank you!

    • spattiselanno
      January 19, 2015

      Hi! Unfortunately, I did not contact DoorStepLuxury for an exchange because when I placed my order, it seemed the item was already listed online as the last piece in stock. Also, delivery of the item was incredibly slow for a local online store so I figured returns would take even longer, something I was not willing to go through. Hope this helps and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

