anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

NYX Bohemian Chic: First Impression & Look

I finally opened a new eyeshadow palette today, the NYX Bohemian Chic nude matte eyeshadow palette that features 24 warm and cool matte eyeshadows in very earthy browns, pinks, greys, greens and blues. I know this palette was released in the middle of 2012 and this review or first impression might come late but I have been on the hunt for a matte eyeshadow palette for some time now seeing as to how I have increasingly grown to love matte eyeshadows the more I experiment with makeup.

Photo courtesy: NYX Cosmetics

Photo courtesy: NYX Cosmetics

The palette comes packaged in a hard plastic case featuring a glossy finish and feels somewhat solidly-made, save for the hinges of the tiers which open out to reveal the eyeshadows. For one, this palette is certainly compact enough for travel.

NYX Bohemian Chic Nude Eyeshadow Palette

NYX Bohemian Chic Nude Eyeshadow Palette

Back of the box indicates the shades included in this palette

Back of the box indicates the shades included in this palette

The 24 shades are contained in two-tiers, with the bottom tier pulling out like a drawer.  Frankly, I didn’t like how it wasn’t clearly indicated that the bottom tier pulled out like a drawer. I kept pulling the second tier upwards, thinking it would open much like a chest, good thing I didn’t break the palette! It was only upon closer examination that I realised the second tier is a pull-out drawer and I had to only gently slide it out. Boo to the Sephora salesperson for not telling me in-store when I did a quick check of the item before purchasing it. I certainly would’ve appreciated that small but critical detailed piece of instruction so I would avoid breaking my brand new palette. *end grumble*

Anyway, I still like the overall packaging (NYX please do include instructions in future for noobs like me) because it is travel-friendly and so far, seems to hold up to being fairly portable albeit not in one’s everyday makeup bag but more for overseas trips.

I initially picked it up because I loved the idea of how versatile the shades seemed to be able to create both daytime and night-time looks. And, I was semi-right.

Top Drawer: 18 earthy-toned matt eyeshadow shades

Top Drawer: 18 earthy-toned matt eyeshadow shades

Bottom drawer slides out to reveal 2 blush shades and 6 darker eyeshadow shades

Bottom drawer slides out to reveal 2 blush shades and 6 darker eyeshadow shades

I love the warm and cool tones this palette features. It’s also very use-able because it includes two blush shades: one in a bright pink, another in a warm coral. After swatching some of the shades, while the bulk of the shades are highly pigmented and give good colour payoff, some selected shades do come off chalky and somehow do not quite show up on my skin tone (without a primer).

A quick swatch of some colours from this palette

A quick very light swatch of some colours from this palette

You can see from the swatches that not all colours are visible on my skin tone. These swatches were done without a primer and were swatched very lightly. It is obvious that only some shades give decent colour payoff. Nonetheless, I am determined to make whatever shades I can, work, with a primer.

Maybe it’s because Valentine’s Day is just round the corner, but I have been feeling somewhat more romantic and feminine of late and have been looking towards using softer shades in the last few days. So, here is a soft, daytime look I created with four shades in this palette, which I feel is simple to create and appropriate for the office. Only bummer is that this palette does not feature names for any of its shades so it is that much harder to do a tutorial without shade names.

FOTD: Soft neutral daytime look appropriate for the office

FOTD: A soft neutral daytime look appropriate for the office

photo_6

A soft, simple look

Shades used to create this look

Top drawer: Shades used to create this look

Bottom drawer: Mauve-type shade used to create this look

Bottom drawer: Mauve-type shade used to create this look

From the top tier, I used:

  1. Light pink: Over the upper eyelid and to highlight brow bone
  2. Yellow ochre: Crease area
  3. Dark brown: Outer V corner area

From the bottom drawer, I used:

  1. Mauve-type shade: To set eyeliner on both upper and lower lash lines
Closer look at the eye makeup

Closer look at the eye makeup

I like the softness of the colours which are easy to work with and highly blendable. This palette certainly needs a primer for most of the shades to show up on my skin tone and so far, I am happy with my purchase. But if I were to compare this palette with the NYX Nude on Nude Natural Look Kit, the shadows from the Bohemian Chic palette seem to pale in comparison in terms of colour payoff and pigmentation.

NYX Nude on Nude Natural Look Kit

NYX Nude on Nude Natural Look Kit (Photo courtesy: NYX Cosmetics)

For those who wish to know, NYC Cosmetics was named after the Greek goddess who ruled the night, offering a wide variety of products ranging from eye shadows to foundation, makeup brushes to false eye lashes, and a wide variety of lip products. NYX Cosmetics was founded in 1999 by Ms. Toni Ko and is headquartered in Los Angeles, USA.

I hope you enjoy this look and if you do create it, please feel free to leave me a comment below with any feedback that you may have!

Thanks for reading and have a happy weekend!

2 comments on “NYX Bohemian Chic: First Impression & Look

  1. Christina S.
    August 14, 2014

    So odd… The top raw in the first layer of your “Bohème Chic” palette contains completely different colors from what is advertised on NYX and from the colors in my palette as well…
    Maybe they have two different versions of this palette? Weird… They are all beautiful either way; I just found it so strange… Noticed it right away because I was surprised when I saw the two blue shades on top…

    • spattiselanno
      September 25, 2014

      Hi there! Thanks for leaving a comment and pointing out the difference! Perhaps its catered to different markets…? 🙂

Leave a Reply

