anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

theBalm Nude ‘Tude: Review & Date Night Look

So, hello my lovelies and I hope everyone had a great weekend! It’s one of those rare Mondays I don’t feel like I have the blues so I thought I might share a quick review and a Date Night look I created with my theBalm’s Nude ‘Tude palette.

To the uninitiated, theBalm offers Paraben and Cruelty-Free products which boast a line of makeup, skin care, hair care and nail polishes. Created with the “beauty in five minutes” philosophy, theBalm’s multi-use, mega fabulous products were created in 2004 by Marissa Shipman, with the singular focus to allow women to release their inner artist so they can look and feel fabulous.

The Nude’ Tude palette was first released in November 2011, and is a wonderful alternative for Urban Decay’s infamous Naked palette. Containing 12 neutral shades in sturdy cardboard packaging, this palette features a mix of matte and shimmer shades (eight shimmery and four matte) that are incredibly soft and buttery. The Nude ‘Tude eyeshadows are highly pigmented and give excellent colour payoff, with only one or two shades being ever so slightly powdery (not chalky) to the touch.  Some of the shimmer shades also have fall-out much like the Urban Decay shimmer shades.

Included in this palette is also a short, double-ended brush. 

theBalm Nude 'Tude palette

theBalm Nude ‘Tude palette

There are actually two versions of theBalm’s Nude ‘Tude Palette: Naughty & Nice. I have the Naughty version  which has a background of naked women with strategically-placed eyeshadow pans, while the Nice version features the background of a women’s boudoir. The names of the individual shades are sassy and the overall packaging is cute. I like how portable the palette is with its slim design and magnetic closure, which is great for travel. However, I find the shades a tad too soft to be porting this palette in my travel makeup pouch for fear that the shades may crack in the pan.

My Nude 'Tude palette

My Nude ‘Tude palette

I also find this palette missing a good matte shade for highlighting. Sassy (top left) is a white frost which is perfect for inner eye corners, but I find it slightly too pigmented and pearly to use on the brown bone area as a highlight shade, especially for creating day-time, office-appropriate looks.

Here is a look I created for my date night with the hubs.

FOTN: Shimmery smoky eyes

FOTN: Shimmery with slightly smoky eyes

photo_3

Makeup look of the night

For the eyes I used four shades:

  1. Sassy: Brow bone
  2. Stubborn: Transition colour over crease area and over the top lid
  3. Sultry: Crease area
  4. Sexy: Outer V area and used to set my eyeliner for upper and lower lid

Overall, I find the shades easy to work with and very blendable. I am really loving the accents and punch of colour Sexy brings to the eyes.

Shades used to create the look

Shades used to create the look

Close up

Close up

To soften this look for day-time, simply swop out the Sassy pearly shade with a matte white/ cream shade for the browbone area.

theBalm is available at Sasa outlets islandwide and there is a Valentine’s Day 30% off promotion currently running for Sasa members.

I hope you enjoy this look and once again, thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

