anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Stila “Artist Essential” Set: Review and Date Night Look

In the lead up to Valentine’s Day, I have been experimenting with my arsenal of makeup to create new looks and basically, just to use up my stash or risk having my stash expire or go bad on me. So, today’s post will be a quick review of and look created using the the Stila “Artist Essential” Set which I was gifted with over Christmas.

Stila Artist Essential Set

Stila Artist Essential Set

Inside the Stila Artist Essential Set

Inside the Stila Artist Essential Set

The set contains four small eyeshadow palettes (with four shades per palette), a Color Lip & Cheek Cream, a Deluxe Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick, a Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner, a #9 Brush and a How-To Card. I was totally awed by the packaging. It looked fun and quirky. It was created to resemble the artist palette boxes of years past, how quaint.

I must say, I have loved using the cheek cream, liquid lipstick and smudge stick liner. They are cream, highly pigmented and a breeze to work with. However, the four eyeshadow quads and the brush are quite the opposite. First swatch of all individual colours from the eyeshadows and I was disappointed. The eyeshadows did not resemble the great quality that Stila eyeshadow palettes namely; In the Know, In the Garden, In the Light, In the Moment, have become known for. These were rather chalky, inconsistent and rather sheer (lighter shades, obviously). They were honestly, quite hard to work with and I did not enjoy using them, which is very sad given how enthusiastic I have been to crack them open since I got them as a gift. Also, there are no names on individual eyeshadow shades, which is not something I quite like. I’m not certain that the shades are limited edition or exclusive to this set, but I am sure that given the quality of these eyeshadows, not many would be keen to repurchase them.

Anyway, here is the date night look I created using the green/ olive/ gold palette from this collection, my trusty Lorac Pro palette, and the Maybelline Color Tattoo in Bold Gold. I was inspired to create a Greek goddess type of look with a heavier eye with some gold shimmer.

Products used

Products used

I had to prime my eyelids with the Color Tattoo in Bold Gold so the lightest green shade on the farthest left of the palette would show up on my eyelids. All the shades in this palette are shimmery, by the way. Then, I used the shimmery olive-green shade (second from the left) on my crease area to give it some depth and definition. It was a tad too difficult to work with these shades, so I caved and used Sable from the Lorac Pro palette to enhance and darken the crease area ever so slightly.

Lorac Pro Palette: Sable

Lorac Pro Palette: Sable over the crease area

Finally, over the outer crease (outer V) area, I added the darkest green (far right of the palette) to create a stronger, more dramatic, smokey look. I completed the look with green accents by lining both my top and lower lash lines with a metallic green eyeliner from Clio, a Korean drugstore brand of makeup. So here is a close up of the eye makeup.

Eye makeup

Eye makeup

FOTN: Date Night look

FOTN: Date Night look

Wearing green eyeshadow!

Wearing green eyeshadow!

Do pardon the dark spots you see over my face, it’s the shadows cast from holding the camera in front of my face. So, I hope you enjoy this look and please leave me a comment if you have any feedback after trying it out.

Once again, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

