anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Lorac Unzipped: First Impression and Look

Yet another happy parcel day for me as I unbox my brand new Lorac Unzipped palette. I couldn’t wait to tear open the box and get my hands on my brand new Lorac Unzipped palette I got from Shopping District (www.shopping-district.net), a Singapore-based online store that brings in beauty products from the United States.

Why the Lorac Unzipped palette? Well, quite honestly, I haven’t been entirely happy with my Urban Decay Naked 3 palette. Somehow, I find the colours not quite suitable for my medium skin tone and the fall out from the shimmer shades isn’t something I am terribly happy with. I also find the colours more purpley-taupey, instead of rose-gold or pink. I really did want a pinker palette. So, I thought I would give the Lorac Unzipped palette a try.

I placed my order with Shopping District on Monday (Feb 10), and received my parcel today (Feb 13), which isn’t considered swift by local online shopping standards but I was extremely happy with my shopping experience because I chose to have my item shipped to me via SingPost’s SmartPac which comes with a tracking number. The items were packed neatly in bubble wrap and shipped in a box so all my items arrived in perfect condition! Their prices are also rather competitive. I would certainly repurchase from them and would also recommend anyone looking to purchase beauty items to try out Shopping District.

My loot from Shopping District

My loot from Shopping District

All my items sitting pretty in the box

All my items sitting pretty in the box

I couldn’t wait to crack open the palette and give it a go and so far, I am extremely pleased with the palette.

The Lorac Unzipped palette was released in middle of 2012 as Lorac Cosmetics’s answer to Urban Decay’s Naked 2 palette. There are 10 shades (three matte and seven shimmer), and comes together with the Lorac Behind The Scenes Eye Primer. The 10 shades are gorgeous and the colours swatch true to the pan. I would say that the shades are creamy, rich and pigmented; the eyeshadows are also easy to blend and all the colours really suit my medium skin tone. I did not use a primer for the swatches and please pardon the lighting in the swatch photo, I was really just too excited to try out the palette and create a look…

Lorac Unzipped

Lorac Unzipped

Pardon my tattoo. Here is a swatch of the eyeshadows

Pardon my tattoo. Here is a swatch of the eyeshadows.

I have always loved rose-coloured tones but I haven’t been entirely happy with my Urban Decay Naked 3 palette given that there is a lot of fall out from the shimmery shades. I also find the Naked 3 somewhat more purple-y than pink. The Lorac Unzipped, to me, is far more true to being a rose-tinted palette with slightly pink-brown shades.

Here is a look I created with my new Lorac Unzipped palette, and the shades I used to create this look:

Shades I used

Shades I used

  • Undercover – Brow Bone
  • Unconditional – Over the upper eyelid
  • Unspoken – Over the crease area
  • Unreal – Over the centre of the upper eyelid to highlight the centre and inner corner
  • Unbridled – Outer V
  • Untamed – Over the top and bottom lash line to set my eye liner
Close up

Close up

FOTN using Lorac Unzipped

FOTN using Lorac Unzipped

photo_3

Romantic pink tones

I am really loving the colours from this palette especially since I am finally able create that soft, romantic look that is suitable for the day. I think I finally found the my Holy Grail palette. And yes, just in time to create that romantic look for Valentine’s Day too!

Once again, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

