anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Ben Nye Banana Luxury Powder: Review

I have found my holy grail finishing powder in the Ben Nye Banana Luxury Powder.

Ben Nye Banana Luxury Powder

Ben Nye Banana Luxury Powder

I first discovered Ben Nye when I watched Wayne Goss on Youtube (gossmakeupartist). This powder was popularised by Kim Kardashian when she tweeted photos of her contoured face. Since then, countless women have discovered the wonders of this magic powder. No, it won’t instantly turn you into the fabulously-looking Kim, but it will certainly do wonders for your makeup, as I have discovered.

Photo courtesy: Kim Kardashian

Photo courtesy: Kim Kardashian

The Ben Nye Banana Luxury Powder is part of the Bella Luxury Powder (formerly known as the Visage Powder) range of Classic loose powders made by the Company. They are finely-milled, mattifying translucent setting powders that provide a smooth finish to skin while highlighting  or enhancing skin tone, and come in four different tints, with the Banana powder as popularised by Kim Kardashian. The Banana Powder subtly corrects surface redness and pink undertones, while neutralising blue/green under-eye circles. 

Photo Courtesy: Ben Nye 2013 Professional Catalog

Photo Courtesy: Ben Nye 2013 Professional Catalog

I got my Banana Luxury Powder from Shopping District (www.shopping-district.net), a Singapore-based online store that brings in beauty products from the US. I did not particularly appreciate the packaging  because it is rather clunky and difficult to pour out without mess. I needed to pour the powder out onto a petri dish or shallow dish to better distribute this product with finesse. So I reached for the nearest flat dish, which was my Crabtree & Evelyn canister cover, sanitised it and it rather quite perfect for this purpose.

Bottle packaging

Sifter-top bottle packaging

Recycled my Crabtree & Evelyn cover

Recycled my Crabtree & Evelyn cover

Swatch of the Ben Nye Banana Luxury Powder

Swatch of the Ben Nye Banana Luxury Powder

The powder glides on smoothly and doesn’t cake up. Although application does take some practice, I am happy that I did not experience much product flying around or fall out. I applied the powder with a powder brush and was happy to note that the  powder matches my medium skin tone perfectly and did not leave funny yellow patches, which I was initially worried about. Overall, my skin looks healthy and even. 

I have combination to oily skin, and most times, my T-zone would get oily within the first four hours of putting on my makeup.

Honestly, this stuff is seriously AMAZING! 

I did my usual morning makeup routine once and never touched up again throughout the day. I also, for the first time, did not have to blot throughout the day. I was not shiny as I would be at the end of my 10-hour day, as seen in my photo below.

Usual morning makeup routine done and dusted

Usual morning makeup routine done and dusted

FOTD: No touch ups, no blotting, after 10-hours of using the Ben Nye Banana Luxury Powder

FOTD: No touch ups, no blotting, after 10-hours of using the Ben Nye Banana Luxury Powder

Given our humid weather here in Singapore, my usual routine is to blot after the first four hours of putting on my makeup (even though I work in an air-conditioned office environment) and with this powder, I did not see the need to blot after the first four hours. I decided to experiment further and see how long I would go without blotting throughout the day albeit you can see my makeup is no longer as matte-looking as when I first started off my day.

I have read mixed reviews of this product where some users have complained that it cast a yellow tint on their skin tone and also made them shinier and oilier. Somehow, this product works on my skin type and I was pleasantly surprised that I could go the entire day without blotting.

Here is a photo of me at the end of a regular day (without the Banana Powder) where I would have blotted at least four times throughout the day. You can also see that my makeup has moved somewhat and my foundation is starting to look blotchy. This is also with my regular makeup routine, with primers and all.

Pardon my oily face

Please pardon my oily face

So far, I am really happy with the performance of the Ben Nye Banana Luxury Powder and highly recommend it. Not only does it keep my makeup in place and my face relatively shine-free, it also prevents my makeup from oxidising. For a full review of these powders done by a professional makeup artist, please watch Wayne Goss’s review here:

Ben Nye Makeup is traditionally famous for its supply of television and theatrical makeup. Hailing from Los Angeles (USA), the Company has strong roots in the Hollywood film industry where founder, Mr. Benjamin Emmet “Ben” Nye, Sr. (January 12, 1907 – February 9, 1986), was a renowned American makeup artist for over 50 years, producing makeup looks for over 500 films including Gone with the Wind (1939) and The King and I (1956).

I hope this review has been helpful for anyone who is might be looking to purchase this product. Once again, thanks for reading!

4 comments on “Ben Nye Banana Luxury Powder: Review

  1. Rina kult
    June 3, 2014

    Good review,I will give banana a go! Have so much good stuff about this make up!

    • spattiselanno
      June 3, 2014

      Hi there, thanks for stopping by and leaving me such kind words! I am glad you found this review to be useful. Hope you manage to get your hands on this product to try it out too. I would love to know your thoughts about the product too, thanks! 🙂

  2. lipstickandkittens
    June 13, 2014

    I love detailed, in-depth reviews like this! So helpful and well-written. Thanks!

    • spattiselanno
      June 19, 2014

      Thank you, glad you enjoyed this review. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

