anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm Review

I know this review is quite late given that this product has already been on the market for a year or so. But still, I wanted to give my review of the Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm.

UD Naked Beauty Balm

UD Naked Skin Beauty Balm

I got the travel sized version (15ml) to try out seeing as to how reviews of this product have been rather mixed. Nonetheless, I have been rather curious to try this out despite the mixed reviews.

The version I got did not state any specific shades, and I know on Youtube some beauty bloggers have talked about the two new shades which will be released as part of the Spring 2014 product releases. So it is possible that the version I got is the 2013 version (one universal shade). Some of the benefits listed on the packaging include:

– Multitasking anti-ageing formula to produce a beautiful, radiant complexion
– Provides SPF 20 sun protection

This is a five-in-one beauty balm that minimises the appearance of pores, lines, wrinkles, and redness. Right out of the tube, the consistency of this product is rather viscous and not runny. The colour tint is beige. Once it was applied, it did not leave a sticky residue and felt light on the face. The product glides on well, and is easy to blend. There is also a slight minty scent to the product.

Upon application, I noticed that the product disappeared into my skin and there is little to no coverage provided. But it left my skin looking better than my natural naked skin, with a slightly satiny yet dewy finish. It also seemed to brighten out and even out my overall skin tone and fine lines and large pores were minimised.

Bare-faced

Bare-faced

UD Naked Skin Beauty Balm dotted over my face

Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm dotted over my face

Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm applied

Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm applied

Overall, I think the product would work better as a primer for foundation, to create that perfect canvass for a flawless finish when paired with a light-to-medium coverage foundation. I also did not experience oiliness like how some users have reviewed. The Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm seems to work well for my skin type and I will probably replace my moisturiser (under my foundation) with this product in my regular makeup routine.

Some of the product benefit claims taken off the Sephora US website:

“Treat with high levels of active skincare ingredients; moisturize and smooth dehydrated skin; prime and perfect skin’s surface; camouflage and color correct the skintone; and protect skin from the sun with SPF. They can be used as a last step for their skincare benefits or used on their own as an instant beautifier.

SPF 20 shields skin from sun damage and Pepha®-Protect helps inhibit DNA damage. Vitasource™ and Glyage® improve the appearance of skin’s firmness and elasticity, and provide measurable antiaging benefits, while the extremely blendable formula creates a smooth finish, so makeup goes on beautifully and stays put. Moisturizing but never greasy, it hydrates skin instantly and improves hydration over time.”

Research results:
In a clinical study, immediately after use:
– 65% had a smoother complexion
– 59% had significantly lifted-looking skin
– 68% had improved skin hydration

Have you tried the Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm? What are your thoughts? Do share or leave a comment below!

Once again, thanks for reading!

One comment on “Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm Review

  1. AnnaBella
    February 25, 2014

    It is good Information, thank you for sharing. Hope we will read many other good things from you in future also. Regards

Leave a Reply

