anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Lime Crime Velvetines: First Impression & Road Test

“Put it on… and forget about it.”

That’s the claim for Lime Crime Velvetines.

I first heard of Lime Crime Velvetines on Youtube in December 2013 when they launched their newest Velvetines colour: Pink Velvet. These lip products have near cult status on Youtube and throughout the blogsphere. I watched a few video reviews and the colour pigments seemed so vibrant, they jumped out of the screen. I was intrigued to try it out but never got down to ordering the product. Firstly because it was harder (read: longer wait) just to get it shipped out from the US to Singapore, and secondly because I was not one to wear lip products until recently. Last week, I found a local store, Pinkpout Singapore (link here) selling Lime Crime products locally and I was delirious! 

I placed my order on Thursday night (Feb 13) and my order was processed on Friday morning and subsequently mailed out to me and I received my item on Wednesday (Feb 19). Not too bad given there was a weekend in between. I was completely delirious when I received my package.  Pinkpout is fabulous. They shipped my item in bubble wrap to prevent any mishandling or breakage, and I definitely appreciate that.

Received my Lime Crime Velvetine from Pinkpout Singapore

Received my Lime Crime Velvetine from Pinkpout Singapore

Lime Crime Velvetine in Red Velvet

Lime Crime Velvetine

The packaging is cute. Gotta love the rose and unicorn motif that appears throughout and the fact that content on the packaging is irreverent and rather in-your-face.

Lime Crime Velvetine

Lime Crime Velvetine

I ordered mine in the shade Red Velvet because I’ve secretly always wanted to wear red lipstick but never had the guts to. I’ve swatched many red lip products but never once stepped out in public with bold, bright lips. This product has changed the game for me.

Lime Crime Velvetine: Doe Foot applicator

Lime Crime Velvetine: Doe Foot applicator

Lime Crime Velvetine Red Velvet swatched

Lime Crime Velvetine Red Velvet swatched

The product is applied via a doe foot applicator. It is definitely runny and applies wet; feels almost like water upon application and dries to a matte finish. That’s the magic of this product: they feel like nothing on your lips, have insane colour payoff, are incredibly long-lasting, and are close to transfer-free! 

Application has to be done fairly carefully or you will end up with pretty inaccurately-drawn lips as shown in my photo. You will also notice a sweet scent from the product. These Velvetines are vegan and cruelty-free products.

photo_4

This liquid lip stain does appear dry and will show cracks and wrinkles on one’s already-dry lips but it does still look quite fabulous. So, I guess it’s good to have properly prepped lips before applying a Velvetine.

Anyway, check this out. I tried the kiss test on my hand and near to nothing transferred.

Transfer "kiss" test: close to nothing transferred

Transfer “kiss” test: close to nothing transferred

I have no idea how they developed the formula for this thing but it is an incredible product! It is no wonder they are so damn popular!

Me and my bold red lip with Lime Crime Velvetine in Red Velvet

Me and my bold red lip with Lime Crime Velvetine in Red Velvet

I decided to put this product to the ultimate road test on my motorcycle. Most times, after a ride, I have to reapply my lippie, gloss or lip balm because everything transfers onto my balaclava or helmet, or dries up from using an open face helmet, and not to forget, leaving a runny mess on my face. And I tell you, this thing stayed put. It didn’t bleed and make a mess on my face. It didn’t dry up and cause my lips to crack any further.

My Lime Crime Velvetine in Red Velvet after a motorcycle ride, dinner and drinks.

My Lime Crime Velvetine in Red Velvet after a motorcycle ride, dinner and drinks.

After ice cream

My Lime Crime Velvetine in Red Velvet after ice cream

End of the night

End of the night (after only one application)

I am happy with the performance of the Lime Crime Velvetine. It definitely needs reapplication but it survived a road test on my motorcycle and it didn’t mess up my makeup so I am happy. Here’s some precautionary advice: the Velvetines are addictive. I want to get the Lime Crime Velvetine in Pink Velvet now.

Here’s a video review of the Lime Crime Velvetine in Pink Velvet by saaammage

I hope this is helpful to anyone who is considering to purchase this item. Once again, thanks for reading!

2 comments on “Lime Crime Velvetines: First Impression & Road Test

  1. Pingback: Lime Crime Opaque Lipstick: Centrifuchsia | anyhowonly

  2. Pingback: Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick | anyhowonly

Leave a Reply

