anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Make Up For Ever Aqua Lip Liner Dupe: First Impression of Sephora Nano Lip Liner

Lately, I’ve been in the market for a “true red” lip liner that will enhance the performance and longevity of my Lime Crime Velvetine in Red Velvet. I found myself wandering into Watsons, Guardian and Sasa to see if there were any drugstore (read: cheaper) alternatives that I could try out.

I was quite mistaken. Apparently, lip liners aren’t so popular here as drugstore brands here don’t carry them. At least I couldn’t find them. So, into Sephora I went.

I swatched the Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Lip Pencil in 69 (Classic Red) and the Make Up For Ever Aqua Lip Liner Pencil in 08C (Red). Both were highly pigmented and extremely creamy. The colour glided on like butter and were fairly smudge-proof after they set. I wanted them. Until I saw the price tag.

The UD pencil cost S$30 and the MUFE one retails for S$33. I wasn’t going to pay in excess of S$25 for a lip pencil that gets occasional use so I decided to look around.

Next, I swatched the Sephora brand lip liner in 20 (Real Red). To my delight, the Sephora lip pencil was creamy and pigmented. The colour glided on just as well as the other two high-end branded lip liners and the colour swatch came pretty close to the MUFE red which was the true classic red I was looking for. And the best past, the Sephora Nano Lip Liner retails for S$9!

Naturally, it is a nano pencil so you get lesser product than the other two compared but for my usage purposes, I thought the nano pencil would suffice so I took her home with me. Here are the photos.

Sephora Nano Lip Liner in 20 Real Red

Sephora Nano Lip Liner in 20 Real Red

Sephora Nano Lip Liner in 20 Real Red

Sephora Nano Lip Liner in 20 Real Red

Sephora Nano Lip Liner in 20 Real Red

Sephora Nano Lip Liner in 20 Real Red

I got home and couldn’t wait to try the lip pencil out. Sorry, applying lip liners take more finesse than I actually have so I coloured out of my lips a tad. Here is the photo.

FOTD using Sephora Nano Lip Liner in 20 Real Red and Lime Crime Velvetine in Red Velvet

FOTD using Sephora Nano Lip Liner in 20 Real Red and Lime Crime Velvetine in Red Velvet

I had dinner and the lip liner stayed put. I must say I’m quite impressed and will definitely be going back to pick up few more colours of the Sephora Nano Lip Liners in the near future!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

