anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

DIY: Getting the perfectly cut Off-the-Shoulder T-Shirt everytime

Chinese New Year has come and gone. In our preparation for the celebrations and festivities, I cleared out my wardrobe and some clutter around the house. There were items I gave away or threw out, some items were donated to the Salvation Army while others I was hoping to recycle or upcycle especially clothes which did not quite fit my current style. 

Since the 90s, I have always loved the off-the-shoulder cropped top look. And with the revival of all things retro and vintage, the off-the-shoulder cropped top look has found its way back into current trends. I decided to exploit the current trend and cut up some old t-shirts to give them a new look.

Cutting clothes can sometimes be quite a hit-and-miss kind of affair especially if one is somewhat clipper challenged like me. So out of pure randomness, I googled to see if I could get help with cutting up my tees. I found  this Youtube video extremely helpful in getting the perfectly measured and cut Off-the-Shoulder T-shirt made by Youtuber Petite Pear Style (http://www.youtube.com/user/petitepearstyle)

I followed her DIY steps and got great results! Here’s a photo of my first attempt at the DIY Off-the-Shoulder T-Shirt. It does look lower than I had initially expected it to be but I think it was a good  first attempt nonetheless!

photo (2)

DIY Off-the-Shoulder T-Shirt

Hope this has helped anyone who might be interested in cutting up their old clothes to give them a new lease of life. Good luck with your project and thanks for reading!

One comment on “DIY: Getting the perfectly cut Off-the-Shoulder T-Shirt everytime

  1. ellesy (@petitepearstyle)
    April 22, 2014

    i think you did a great job! thank you for sharing my video on your lovely blog!! 🙂 hugs from toronto, canada. 🙂

Leave a Reply

