anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation: Review & Comparison

I cannot rave enough about the Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation!

I finally got the right shade (with great help from the sales associate at the Albert Court OG counter). It’s been such a difficult time trying to get shade matched especially since the Bourjois Happy Light Foundation shades run really really dark. I have previously tried the Happy Light Foundation in shade 52 and felt it was too dark for me (check my review here). Although I have been happy using the Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Makeup foundation, I was still quite curious to find out how the Healthy Mix Serum performs given all the online rave reviews. And after using it, I too, cannot rave enough about it.

Firstly, here are the claims to the product taken off the Bourjois website,

“Give your skin a radiance boost with Bourjois’ Healthy Mix Serum Gel foundationmade from a vitamin-rich fruit therapy formula for an even complexion and an instant anti-fatigue result! Its fresh and instant blending gel texture blends and glides onto the skin for an even, natural finish with no mask effect. Imperfections are erased, signs of fatigue are smoothed and the skin’s radiance is boosted for up to 16 hours*. Made from an instant anti-fatigue vitamin-rich fruit therapy formula with litchi, goji berries and pomegranates.”

The foundation comes out from a fairly slim plastic bottle with a pump so I like that it’s hygienic to use and compact to travel with. The shades don’t apply as dark as the Happy Light Foundation. It is said that the Healthy Mix foundations are dupes for the Chanel Vitalumiere foundations (Chanel is owned by Bourjois). So, there are two versions of this foundation – Healthy Mix and Healthy Mix Serum Gel. Here’s a look at the product.

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation in Shade 53

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation in Shade 53

The Healthy Mix Serum foundation is said to be better for people with slightly clearer skin condition as it gives light to medium coverage, although it is buildable to full coverage, and is perfect for every day use. The finish of this foundation is dewy. There is a heavy fruity fragrance to this foundation, so some may not like it. Shade 53 has slightly more yellow undertones compared to Shade 52 which is definitely pinker. Given how sheer the coverage of this foundation is, it would be recommended to carry a compact for touch-ups throughout the day as this foundation will definitely not wear throughout for 16-hours in our hot, humid climate.

First time I used this foundation, I applied it with a foundation brush and I like that it didn’t appear streaky or look cakey. The foundation is rather viscous with a slightly thicker consistency compared to the Happy Light Foundation. It applies similar to the Happy Light Foundation but has sheerer coverage compared. I like that it gives off the ‘it’s my skin but better’ type of sheer coverage with a dewy finish. Upon application, the product feels lightweight on the skin and it doesn’t feel like I’m wearing foundation, so that’s a huge bonus. Here’s a look at the foundation, I’m wearing the shade 53.

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation in shade number 53

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation in shade number 53

I love that it makes my skin look healthier and more radiant than usual. 

I wore this throughout the whole day for close to eight hours and had to touch up at the six hour mark. Since I ride a motorcycle and each time I wear my helmet, I put on a balaclava first, so this foundation didn’t quite last very long as it is rather sheer and after multiple transfers onto my balaclava, it almost disappeared completely. Even after eight hours and oxidisation, I didn’t turn into an orange oompa loompa. I would definitely use this foundation for days when I know I will be indoors more as the Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Makeup is more resilient to transfer and humidity when comparing the two. I prefer this over the Happy Light foundation because of the shade offering from this range and also because it gives a more perfectly radiant finish.

I hope this has been helpful to anyone who might be looking at either one of these foundations and once again, thanks for reading!

One comment on “Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation: Review & Comparison

  1. Angela
    May 15, 2014

    Hi, thanks for your review! I was wondering how you’d compare the Healthy Mix Serum Foundation with the new CC Cream?

Leave a Reply

