anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Bourjois’ 123 Perfect CC Cream Foundation: Review

It started with tinted moisturisers, then the rage was for BB creams, and then came the CC creams. Chanel’s CC cream led the pack of CC creams in 2013, according to LifestyleAsia (see link here: LifestyleAsia’s Best CC Creams of 2013)

15 – 18 years ago, I wouldn’t bat an eyelid shelling out hundreds of dollars on beauty products and perfumes. So, naturally, the Chanel CC Cream isn’t something I am willing to pay for now since I prefer splurging on experiences although, I still allow myself indulges with regular beauty purchases (read: drugstore branded products or highstreet branded products). My latest discovery, courtesy of the queen of makeup, Ms Lisa Eldridge, is Bourjois’ 123 Perfect CC Cream Foundation. (Bourjois owns Chanel, by the way). The Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream combines the benefits of a hydrating lotion with the correcting and concealing power of a foundation. Naturally, I was intrigued to give this product a go.

Bourjois’ 123 Perfect CC Cream Foundation

Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream Foundation

I was lucky. These things retail for close to S$26 at selected Watsons outlets, Metro and OG stores. I got mine on sale when Metro was giving a 20% + 20% off on Bourjois products in February 2014 so I only paid about S$16 for mine. I chose the shade 32 as 31 seemed too pink for me. I was so stoked to try out this new purchase, I went home and got straight down to it.

As with BB creams and CC creams, I figured this would oxidise somewhat so when I applied the foundation initially and it looked slightly too light for my skin tone, I was undeterred. Colour matching has always been a problem for me since I have problems projecting how much a foundation might or might not oxidise on my skin. So upon application, I think I fell in love pretty hard with this product. It gave relatively sheer coverage and felt extremely lightweight on the skin. The Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream Foundation is fairly fluid compared to the Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation or even the Happy Light Foundation. It appears thin and applies very smoothly. It is also extremely blendable and is easily worked into the skin. I used a foundation brush to apply a thin layer and didn’t go over the first layer with anything else. It took a short while for the product to acclimatise and when it did, I looked like I had flawless skin. This CC cream foundation evened out my skin tone and gave me luminous skin with just one application.

Face with Bourjois’ 123 Perfect CC Cream Foundation

Face with Bourjois’ 123 Perfect CC Cream Foundation in Shade 32

I decided to try putting on some light makeup to complete my look and also give the CC cream some time to set.

Here I am with light makeup and with the Bourjois’ 123 Perfect CC Cream Foundation in shade 32 as my base

Here I am with light makeup and with the Bourjois’ 123 Perfect CC Cream Foundation in shade 32 as my base

Have I said that I didn’t put on any finishing powder because I really love the dewy finish of this CC cream foundation? It really just makes skin look perfect! Here are the product claims taken off the Bourjois UK website,

“Thanks to its 3 colour correcting pigments that smooth away imperfections

. APRICOT pigments > anti-fatigue
. GREEN pigments > anti-redness
. WHITE pigments > anti-dark spots + the skincare action of a cream with 24 hr hydration and SPF 15.

– Non-oily lightweight formula
– Enriched with invigorating white tea extracts”

After a fairly good first impression, I decided to try this foundation out on my regular work day to review its longevity and wear throughout my work day. Here’s a photo of me as I leave for my work day. I love that I don’t look like I’m wearing a ton of makeup, just naturally radiant.

Glowing radiant skin with Bourjois’ 123 Perfect CC Cream Foundation

Glowing radiant skin with Bourjois’ 123 Perfect CC Cream Foundation

I noticed I had to blot throughout the day, naturally since this product doesn’t promise to be mattifying instead promising 24-hour hydration. I have combination skin and with our humid weather, blotting is a given. Still, this CC cream foundation gave me a natural glow unlike most foundations I have used to-date. This glow isn’t the greasy, oily-faced-type of look but just really healthy, luminous skin with the glow-from-within type of glow. The kind of glow one gets (and clear skin) with exercise. Have I said I am in love with this CC cream foundation yet?

Office selfie with the Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream Foundation

Office selfie with the Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream Foundation

I reckon I might consider switching out my regular foundation for this on days when I don’t need to look overly made-up. And I think the Bourjois CC Cream Foundation would be a great alternative to regular foundation for someone with relatively clear skin and who wants to look like she’s wearing minimal makeup.

Have you tried this product out yet? What are your thoughts?

Thanks for reading!

2 comments on “Bourjois’ 123 Perfect CC Cream Foundation: Review

  1. Imp
    March 6, 2014

    Wow!!

Leave a Reply

