anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Miam Miam Bugis Junction: French-Japanese Cafe

Just last week I was looking to purchase a wallet and found myself wandering around the newly-renovated BHG (second level, Bugis Junction). Tired of designer wallets that cost and arm and a leg with (diminishing) average quality, I decided I was going to look at mass market brands for a nondescript black leather number. Part of me also figured I needed a change of wallet fengshui. So, in between decisions, my partner and I grabbed dinner at Miam Miam.

Located just opposite the second floor entrance of BHG, is the quaint, open-concept hipsterish French-Japanese cafe, Miam Miam. What looks like no more than 250 sq metres, Miam Miam’s open kitchen takes centre stage, serving hot and cold food to patrons. Such open kitchens are a rare find for cafe-type eateries these days. Miam Miam’s French country décor features pine wood pieces paired with pastel yellow and baby blue chairs against a decorative mosaic floor, lending an unassuming, warm and rather inviting atmosphere to the place. There is a distinctive Parisian vibe infused with a certain Japanese flair at this joint. I liked it! It didn’t seem like it was trying so hard to impress like some of these other Japanese-styled cafes I have visited.

Seating is typical cafe styled where tables are placed within close proximity of each other; I did notice though that there was enough distance between tables for conversations without other people listening in. Prices for main courses are no more than S$20 and servings are large especially for the pastas. The food here is done with Japanese influence so expect a lighter taste for pastas compared to the typical Italian pasta which is heavier in flavour.

Although I was tempted to go big with the Miam Miam Spaghetti, I eventually had the Squid Ink Back Rice & Omu Egg. I was too hungry to take a photo so here is one taken off DanielFoodDiary’s blog post. It really does look like this. And, I have to tell you, I was blown away by its taste. The squid was done to perfection: chewy, sweet and succulent; not overcooked and mushy, while the rice did not have the overpowering metallic, briny taste that is synonymous with squid ink. I enjoyed my rice thoroughly.

The Miam Miam Spaghetti was really good. Although we weren’t eager to mix up the egg yoke with the pasta, our server had already mentioned it was going to give the pasta its flavour, so we had to oblige. The spaghetti was garlicky and flavoured with an overall porky taste – my kind of taste for pasta. I just wish we could’ve added in small bits of chilli padi to complete the dish. The egg really added a saltier albeit creamier taste to the pasta.

That evening, we also ordered the Peanut Butter and Banana Milkshake which was delicious enough to be a meal all by itself.

Miam Miam Squid Ink Rice (Photo Courtesy DanielFoodDiary.com)

Miam Miam Squid Ink Rice (Photo Courtesy DanielFoodDiary.com)

Miam Miam Spaghetti

Miam Miam Spaghetti (Photo Courtesy: Miam Miam.sg)

I had such a great first impression of the place, I went back for lunch two days later. This time, my party ordered the Spaghetti Bolognese and the Riz Au Curry, which is a baked rice with Japanese curry, frankfurters, broccoli cheese and egg.

I couldn’t get enough of the pasta. Miam Miam’s Spaghetti Bolognese comes with an onsen egg, and once again, it is recommended that one stirs the egg into the pasta for better taste. I think it just might be the novelty of an egg yoke in my pasta that keeps me coming back for more. But in all honesty, the food at Miam Miam is spectacular. I appreciate that the servings are large enough (to share too!) and the atmosphere is great, and you don’t have to pay a pretty penny for food here. Bonus points for pretty awesome service too!

Riz Au Curry

Riz Au Curry

Miam Miam Spaghetti Bolognese

Miam Miam Spaghetti Bolognese

Unfortunately, I’m not quite a dessert kinda gal. But Miam Miam’s Souffles look really appetising. Perhaps, I will pop in again to try out their dessert selection. If you’re ever in the area, do check out Miam Miam, I don’t think you’ll regret it.

Miam Miam is located at:
#02-14, Bugis Junction, 200 Victoria Street (no reservations)

Thanks for reading!

2 comments on “Miam Miam Bugis Junction: French-Japanese Cafe

  1. Francesca Maria
    March 20, 2014

    French-Japanese? Sounds wonderful, my husband is Japanese but here in Trapani we don’t find any Japanese food.

  2. spattiselanno
    March 27, 2014

    Yes, French-Japanese food is rather popular here in Asia, I think it’s the concept of chic Parisian-style cafes with Japanese-influenced food that makes it so successful. It’s a pity there aren’t these fusion cafes in your part of Europe, although I think they may only appeal to a small community. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

