anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Beauty Ban Tips

I’m trying to put myself on a buying ban because I have accumulated too many products, especially makeup and beauty products. Just take a look at the alarming collection of palettes I have. I know, this might not seem like much to some “collectors” out there, but this is definitely excessive to me. I don’t think I will ever be able to finish or hit pan on all these palettes before their expiration dates!

My (shameful) palette collection

My (shameful) palette collection

After looking through my current stash, I have decided to stop purchasing for a while and start enjoying everything I have! And what better way than to internalise it by taking these necessary steps:

  1. Reorganise makeup
  2. Shop Your Stash & Rotate
  3. Keeping an inventory or makeup catalogue
  4. Samples
  5. Shopping online

Reorganise makeup

I really dislike clutter. And I have a thing for clean table tops. So the idea of makeup strewn all over my dresser, is pretty much a deal-breaker. I have always made it a point to store things away so my table top is as clear as I can possibly keep it. But that doesn’t work with makeup – if you store it away, you’re going to forget about it and only reach for the same items. So, I’ve learnt that one way to keep things fresh in your mind is to store them in a visible yet organised manner. How?

Enter the trusty book stand. One thing about this is that the palettes will be at risk of falling off stands and will need to be dusted off regularly. Also, if you have an enormous collection, this might not offer enough space. But it is an option worth exploring.

Photo Courtesy Miss Claira-Belle

Photo Courtesy Miss Claira-Bella

Another way to showcase one’s collection would be to hang it all up, in a photo frame or a magnet board. While this is a pretty looking solution, this would only work if your collection is relatively small. However, the DIY process involved in a project like this, would possibly turn me off too. I know I’ll stop halfway, magnetising only half of my collection and give up.

Photo Courtesy Pinterest

Photo Courtesy Pinterest

Reorganising one’s makeup is one way of keeping one’s makeup collection fresh in one’s mind. I have seen many people use cake stands, craft tools and various cardboard boxes to compartmentalise and categorise. The key objective would be to optimise the available physical space yet create maximum visibility using inventive solutions.

I have decided the best way forward for me would be to use book stands or magazine racks. And so, I will be shopping around for one (or two) that work for my space.

 Shop Your Stash & Rotate

This is my current favourite but to effectively ‘Shop My Stash’, I will need to reorganise my makeup in a manner that will allow me optimal visual recall of my collection in order to really fully utilise my collection.

Currently, I am also beginning to create my own ‘look cards’ using palettes in my collection. I figured this would be a good exercise that will encourage me to play with all the shades and also come up with new combinations for looks. No doubt a time-consuming exercise, once completed, these cards would go into my catalogue for quick reference.

NARS Look Card for Fall/Winter 2013 (Photo Courtesy BeautyStat.com)

NARS Look Card for Fall/Winter 2013 (Photo Courtesy BeautyStat.com)

I have also started rotating my makeup on a weekly basis, swapping out the palettes I wish to use throughout the week and place them in the area dedicated for my ‘current go-to’ makeup. This helps spread out the wear, creating more even wear for individual palettes. Personally, there is nothing more daunting than ‘breaking into’ a new palette and overcoming the fear of not having a pristine palette to admire: a habit I have to break.

Keeping an inventory or makeup catalogue

Which brings me to my next option: keeping an inventory or makeup catalogue.

I have done this with my shoes, accessories and now, I plan on creating a similar catalogue for my makeup. What I mean by this is simply a clear folder containing pictures of individual accessories. I find this has been most effective in allowing me to pick out accessories for all my various outfits. Likewise, with my shoes, I did the same thing many years back. I also included thumbnail images (to mimic Polaroid shots) outside each shoe box, making it easier to identify the shoes inside.

I have started taking pictures of all my palettes and swatches of the shades which I will consolidate and display in a clear folder. I will also intend to make a copy of these images and store them on my phone so each time I am shopping online or am in-store, tempted to purchase a new palette, I will refer to my catalogue. Being able to recall items in my collection like that would keep my stash fresh in my mind, and possibly, also create some level of guilt.

Cargo Vintage Escape palette: 12 neutral shades

Cargo Vintage Escape palette: 12 neutral shades

Samples

Do you sometimes feel like you just need to try new products? This craving just creeps up and you look at your current collection and go, ‘hmmmm…I need something new.’. Well, that craving for new things has contributed directly in an excessive stash of samples. I now have a drawer stocked full with product samples which started from beauty box subscriptions. Since then, I have learnt to ‘Shop My Stash’ by going through all my samples.

Sephora and some online stores also give away product samples with each purchase. I have learnt to use these samples when travelling or just when a craving hits.

I have also given away samples to co-workers, friends and family members by packaging them as ‘beauty hampers’, saving me some money and time with having to purchase gifts to mark occasions such as promotions or good performance at work.

An example of a beauty hamper

An example of a beauty hamper

Shopping Online

I shop online. A lot. Sometimes, I am ashamed to look at all that I have accumulated. I think online shopping gives one a false sense of the sheer volume of one’s actual consumption. What I mean by that is, we don’t physically lug our purchases around when we shop online. In addition to that, everything gets delivered to our doorsteps, at different times. So naturally, we don’t see the sheer volume of everything until we take it all out at once.

I have learnt to limit my purchases. Also, I have learnt to ‘window shop’ online. Meaning, each time I am hit by the shopping urge, I browse items on online stores and place them in my shopping cart. Then, I just leave the items in my cart and close the browser. I take a moment, distract myself with other projects or tasks and after an hour, a day, or even a week, I go back to that particular online store and see if I still want those items I had previously picked out. I have found that most times, I would reconsider my shopping cart items and not purchase anything.

I find this is the most effective way to satisfy the urge to shop without committing to any purchase.

If you find yourself in a similar position and are looking for tips on how to maintain a buying ban, then I hope you find the above suggestions useful. Do share any tips you might have, and thanks for reading!

10 comments on “Beauty Ban Tips

  1. Koofa
    March 27, 2014

    Yeah, not buying can be so hard.. once in a while I go through a phase where nothing from Sephora interests me and I just don’t care.. I wish those phases lasted longer than they do. Then something comes out or catches my eye and I can’t stop thinking and dreaming about it until I get it! I’ve accumulated drawers full of samples too which is a really good thing though, I have enough mascaras, bronzers, face creams, perfumes and eye primers to last me quite a while before I’ll have to buy any for myself! I really like your idea about making your own look cards and also keeping inventory on your makeup! Sounds like you’re extremely organized!

    • spattiselanno
      March 31, 2014

      I go through the same phases as you do! Sometimes, even the most earth-shattering releases don’t draw me in but then I get struck by a string of unending cravings and I cave. I’m planning on an updated post once I complete the look cards so hopefully that would spur me to keep at it. Whilst it is a good idea, it is time consuming to start and I really need to be good about that, or I know I’ll just keep buying…

  2. eleseaesthete
    March 27, 2014

    This is a really good idea! My Sleek palettes need more love because I live and breathe my Naked2 so might try it x

    • spattiselanno
      March 31, 2014

      Hi there! Thanks for popping by and leaving me a comment! I have yet to open my Naked and Naked 2 palettes seeing how I have quite a few to choose from at this point. Please share any ideas you might too, I need all the help I can get! 🙂

      • eleseaesthete
        March 31, 2014

        pretty much every eyeshadow look I do over on my blog I use my Naked2 haha I’m in loveeeee x

  3. nhieubeauty
    March 27, 2014

    OMG I love your eyeshadow palette collection!

    • spattiselanno
      March 31, 2014

      Hello! Thanks for dropping by and leaving such kind words! I can’t help buying palettes – everything is so pretty lined up in a row, plus they always make the packaging so gorgeous. x

  4. pragya22
    April 1, 2014

    waoo thats a great post!! and the organizing ideas are worth trying.. I am trying to ban myself from buying stuff but the obssesion is on its peak!!

    • spattiselanno
      April 7, 2014

      Hi there! Thanks for dropping by and leaving me a comment! I have not been so faithful with my beauty ban, unfortunately. Most recently, I cheated with Bourjois Velvet liquid lipsticks that I blogged about. They keep releasing these fabulous new products… I guess, we have to keep trying. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Update on Beauty Ban | anyhowonly

Leave a Reply

