anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Woo Ricebox

Woo Ricebox opened late 2013 and since then, it has garnered pretty rave reviews here in Singapore.

Hailing from Taiwan, Woo Ricebox is a well-known quick-service chain that offers 14 types of riceboxes here in Singapore. A quick google search reveals rave reviews from local bloggers such as MissTamChiak, Daniel’sFoodDiary and loads more. All the PR material available online tells the story of how Woo Ricebox was set up in 1939 in the Chih-shang township, formerly a major railway interchange. In order to cater to the scores of hungry travellers embarking on long train journeys, Woo’s founder decided to create a nutritious and convenient rice box that transports well. Woo’s rice boxes are designed to be compact and portable and wooden to ensure that the food contents do not turn soggy even hours after purchase. In addition, Woo Ricebox uses only premium short-grain rice imported from Chih-shang.

Woo Ricebox in Singapore

Woo Ricebox in Singapore

Enough story-telling. Let’s talk about the food.

Firstly, I ordered the Woo’s Drumstick Ricebox and have to admit, it is pretty amazing to be served a hulking piece of chicken thigh. What it does to your senses, is something unlike the experience one will ever get in a KFC joint or Texas Chicken (sorry there). The fried chicken is served piping hot and the smell emanating from it is intoxicating.

Woo's Drumstick Ricebox

Woo’s Drumstick Ricebox

The chicken is crispy and juicy, and paired with the a mix of vegetables, pickles, a slice of braised toufu, Taiwanese sausage and half a braised egg, you get a pretty delightful taste experience. While there isn’t much to talk about the pickles and vegetables, I must tell you that the slice of tofu isn’t softy and mushy, instead, it adds a flavourful bite to the overall dish. I always leave the chicken skin to the end because I want to savour its crispiness, oiliness and fattiness, bite by bite.  Be sure to wash everything down with a glass of their in-house special – Melon Tea – for a palate-cleansing end, and I guarantee, you will be comfortably fulfilled at the end of the meal.

I haven’t tried Woo’s Pork Chop Rice Box yet, but I hear so many good things about it and probably will on my next visit.

Although I don’t appreciate where it is located (just out of the way for me) and its rather inconvenient operating hours, I have patronised this outlet twice simply because the chicken beckons me, ever so often. I really wish they would open another outlet in a more accessible shopping mall with ‘standard’ F&B opening hours because I picture myself tabao-ing (tabao is Chinese for takeaway) rice boxes for dinner.

Woo Ricebox is located at 10 Collyer Quay, Ocean Financial Centre, B1-03/5 and is open from 11am-8pm on weekdays, (closes at 2.30pm on Saturdays) and is closed on Sundays. 

7 comments on “Woo Ricebox

  1. DanielFoodDiary
    March 28, 2014

    Glad you liked it! 🙂 My sense is that they will probably open more, just need to find the right (and cheap) location.

    • spattiselanno
      March 31, 2014

      Hi Daniel, thanks for stopping by and leaving me a comment! I saw your blogpost on the place and decided I had to try it out, and was glad I did! I’ve been telling friends to try their food but somehow, the location and opening hours is a bit of a stretch for all of us so I’m really hoping they open another outlet soon! 🙂

  2. Just A Simple Guy
    March 28, 2014

    looks… yummy!

    • spattiselanno
      March 31, 2014

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving me a comment! I love the chicken there. If you’re ever in the area, do give it a go! 🙂

      • Just A Simple Guy
        April 1, 2014

        yup i will if I am in spore. Looks more appetizing than the one I saw in Taiwan (not the same company). It is quite common to see the lunch box in Taiwan. Haha… I just realized that I use to buy this kind of food in these boxes for my lunch and dinner. lol!!

  3. backpackerlee
    May 28, 2014

    Always good to see some more Taiwanese chains opening up in Singapore. Bear Bites is ok, but a bit fanciful, if you know what I mean. I will have to check out Woo Ricebox in the next couple of months when I return to SG! 😀

  4. Asking questions are genuinely good thing if you are not understanding anything entirely, however
    this article presents good understanding yet.

Leave a Reply

