anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

My Liebster Award!

I’ve hit another milestone with my blog. Just yesterday, I was nominated for the Liebster Award! Way cool!

Liebster Award

Liebster Award

I’ve started blogging in November 2013 and this nomination is definitely a huge encouragement. While I hit a small stumbling block in early December, lately, I’ve been trying to push myself with creating daily content consistently especially since the start of the new year. Arguable, blogging consistently can be difficult to maintain especially when one has to seek out new material constantly.

The Liebster Award is basically an online award given to new bloggers with less than 500 followers. Liebster is German for sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome. While blogging is about building a community and sharing ideas and thoughts, this award connects the dots in that it is a great way to connect with bloggers and help spread the word about newer blogs. It is said that the Liebster Award was created to recognise/ discover new bloggers and welcome them to the blogosphere. 

So, dear Natasha of KissmetBeauty, thank you for nominating me! It is indeed highly appreciated.

So, as with all awards, some criteria and rules apply including:

1. Make a post about the Liebster Award, thanking the blogger who nominated you and state 11 interesting facts about yourself

2. Answer the set of 11 questions asked by the blogger who nominated you

3. Nominate 5-11 new bloggers with 500 followers that you feel deserve the award or less and link them in your Liebster Award post.

4. Go to their page and tell them.

5. No tag backs!

I find it so hard to write about me, somehow. But here are the 11 random facts about me:

  1.  I’m an introverted-extrovert, and by that I mean, I am usually shy and prefer to keep to myself in a social setting. That doesn’t mean I am unfriendly though. However, my job requires me to be outgoing and engage people. Over the years, I have developed a certain ‘acceptable’ behaviour social situations. In my personal space though, unless I can make a sincere connection, I prefer not to engage in small talk.
  2. I have rewatched the entire six seasons of Sex And The City, countless times over. I love the conversations, witty rebuttals and topics the show covers, and the method at which it is delivered: fashionable, chic and irreverent, makes it so easy on the eyes. I’m not too big on the two movies though, I somehow feel, the storyline tried too hard to appeal to the mass-market.
  3. I am big on Entourage and Criminal Minds. Sometimes, I can finish rewatching an entire season over a weekend.
  4. I love boxing and bag work. I am a firm believer of exercise and overall fitness.
  5. I hate cockroaches. I just hate them and I can’t be within a metre of them.
  6. My parents ran a boarding house when I was young so I grew up with Asian boys who attended international schools.
  7. I grew up watching Motocross and dreamed of being a motocross racer one day.
  8. I am a foodie. And I will go to great lengths to enjoy a good meal.
  9. While I may appear all rough and tough, I have my feminine side and would love to dress like a 60s pinup girl, all day, every day. My grandfather played the double bass for an English club in the 60s and when I was born, he made sure I appreciate music from that era. I never quite stepped out of that phase of music. And I find there is such poise and elegance in the 20s and 60s.
  10. Stemming from my love for all things old-fashioned, as a kid, I dreamt of opening my own 60s diner serving milkshakes and burgers and a dance hall and a roller derby track! I don’t think this would ever work here in Singapore though.
  11. My younger self always aspired to be a nomad author where I would work in whatever city I stayed in, taking on menial jobs like dishwashing, and exploring the city and eventually write a book about my experiences. I guess, life has taken quite a different turn since those days.

Here are my answers to the 11 questions tagged by Natasha:

1.    When did you start your blog and what made you decide to start it?

I decided in November 2013 that I should challenge myself with something new, and since I love writing, blogging would be a great avenue for me to exercise those writing skills I have sidelined.

2.    What’s the wildest thing you’ve ever done?

Ride pillion on a motorcycle at 310kmh with no proper motorcycle gear on.

3.    Do you have a bucket list and if so, can you name some of the things that are on it?

I actually blogged about this! Here is the link to the post – But picking some things off that list:

  1. Swim with sharks
  2. Walk with a tiger
  3. Do stunts on a motorcycle: including wheelies, stoppies, bar tricks, burn outs and acrobatics.

4.    What’s your favorite season?

Here in Singapore, we only have two season: hot & humid or wet & moist. I would take the heat anyday, because that means the weather is great to head out and do stuff!

5.    If you could choose only ONE cosmetic item to use for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Blotters? This is a tough question. What can I say, I love my beauty products!

6.    If you visit any place in the entire world, where would it be?

Central Asia.

7.    What country do you reside in?

Singapore

8.    What are some of your hobbies?

Going riding, watching Youtube videos and reading.

9.    Who’s your favorite band and/or musician?

Sting and Aerosmith.

10. If you could choose anyone in the world to meet (dead or alive), who would it be and why?

The late Princess Diana. She is just such an inspiration who was poised, elegant and smart!

11. What is your greatest passion in life?

It would have to be enjoying good food.

Here are my 11 questions:

  1. What are your pet peeves?
  2. What’s your 9-5 job?
  3. What inspired you to start your blog?
  4. If you could go back and visit any time period, what time would you travel to and why?
  5. Post a link or photo of an item that you are currently coveting
  6. In a sentence or two describing a happy memory from your childhood
  7. Three favourite online shopping sites
  8. What’s the best advice you ever received?
  9. Confess something
  10. Share something you learnt recently
  11. Name a gift you will never forget.

 

Now, I am nominating the following bloggers for the Liebster Award!

  1. Noel Boyd
  2. isaac976
  3. The Pink Pout Blog
  4. Scatterbraintures
  5. fifiliciousify
  6. flabsruletheworld

Were you nominated for the Liebster Award? I would love to read your answers!

 

13 comments on “My Liebster Award!

  1. Koofa
    March 31, 2014

    I can relate to you completely with #1 🙂 I don’t think that’s something that will ever change with me. I also think being a nomad writer would be awesome.. Kind of hard to do with a husband and kid, but that would be pretty amazing. Now you’ve got me daydreaming haha. You have a real talent and knack for writing.. it just flows so smoothly. This was a really interesting read! 🙂 xo

    • spattiselanno
      April 7, 2014

      Hi Natasha, thank you for nominating me! I really enjoyed writing this post, if it wasn’t for you, I don’t think I would have had the opportunity to post this! So thank you, once again! I, too, enjoyed reading your post! We are similar in that you are an Army Wife whilst my husband is in the police force. While my partner and I do not move as much as you do, I think there are similarities we share with our partners being in service.Travelling as much as you do would make you highly adaptable and that would certainly make for some pretty amazing experiences too! 🙂

      • Koofa
        April 7, 2014

        Oh yes, there are similarities between both careers, I know a lot of ex-military transition into the police force after they leave or retire. Both are dangerous jobs, but I guess somebody has to do it :/ Again, you’re welcome, I was happy to nominate you! 🙂 xo

  2. Elaine
    March 31, 2014

    Thank for the nomination! 🙂 I enjoyed reading your answers.

    • spattiselanno
      April 7, 2014

      Hello Elaine! Thanks for stopping by and reading my post! I would love to read your post too, if you ever feel so inclined to write one 🙂

  3. Rae
    April 8, 2014

    Thanks! I hope I can get to do this but usually I’m too lazy. Will probably do a foundation tag post soon though and I’ll tag you back 😛

    • spattiselanno
      April 14, 2014

      Sure thing! I’m sure it will be interesting to read your post!

      • Rae
        May 7, 2014

        Steff! I tagged you back 😀 I decided to write the I love drugstore makeup tag instead 🙂 Really want to know what drugstore products you have.

      • spattiselanno
        May 7, 2014

        Hi Rae! Sorry I haven’t replied your comment sooner. I’m happy to do this for you and will tag you once it’s up so you can take a look. Thanks for thinking of me 🙂

      • spattiselanno
        May 21, 2014

        Hi Rae! Sorry my tag post is so, so late! I just uploaded the post on my blog. You can check it out here: https://anyhowonly.wordpress.com/2014/05/21/the-i-love-drugstore-makeup-tag/ 🙂 xx

  4. Pingback: The I Love Drugstore Makeup Tag | Scatterbraintures

  5. Thank you for nominating me babe!!!! xx will post mine up soon!

    • spattiselanno
      June 19, 2014

      Hiya, you are welcome and I can’t wait to see your post!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2014 by in About Me and tagged , .
