anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick

I am in love.

Correction. I am in love with lipsticks that stain, don’t feel like anything when you wear them, and don’t budge once you put them on. And that would refer to the new Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick. Launched in March 2014, these liquid lipsticks are currently available at selected Watsons and major departmental stores islandwide, and retail for S$25 each.

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick Photo Courtesy Autumn Leaves

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick. Photo Courtesy Autumn Leaves

There are altogether eight delicious colours in the collection. I would’ve bought them all if I wasn’t on a beauty ban. I know, I know, I’m not supposed to be buying anything beauty-related if I’m on a self-imposed beauty ban but I just. couldn’t. help. it. Metro was having a 20% storewide sale and on top of that, they were giving an additional 20% discount for selected brands, Bourjois included.

Here are the eight shades in this collection:

01 Personne ne Rouge – Classic red
02 Frambourjoise – Red berry with pink undertones
03 Hot Pepper – Orangey red
04 Peach Club – Pale orange
05 Ole Flamingo – Deep raspberry
06 Pink Pong – Berry toned fuchsia
07 Nude-ist – Rosewood nude (brown tones)
08 Grand Cru – Deep burgundy with pink tones

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick. Photo Courtesy Bourjois Singapore

And, I want seven of them. I got my hands on five of them.

I wasn’t particularly keen on shade 03, and I haven’t located shade 01 and 08 to swatch. When I swatched shade 03, I felt it was too orangey-toned a shade for me to wear with confidence, so I passed up the opportunity to pick it up at a discount.

These Bourjois liquid lipsticks remind me of the Lime Crime Velvetines. They glide on creamy and smooth, and stayed on for up to 4 hours (yep, that’s through dinner and dessert) on my lips. Application can be tricky if you aren’t so dexterous especially with a doe foot applicator. I recommend outlining with a lip brush, going once-over with product from the tube, especially for users who are like me.

The pigmentation is incredibly intense, and they go on fairly opaque as well – so much so that a single coat might suffice for some users. One thing to note, these liquid lipsticks require some time before they set into place. Each tube comes with 6.7ml of product and product claims include, “Light texture, Extreme Comfort and 24-hour hold”.

I am in love with the formula for these lipsticks. They are so comfortable to wear because they are so light and don’t feel like anything on, and they dry to a matte finish. The finish is beautiful – not so matte that the lips look parched and lack-lustre. And once these babies dry, they don’t slide around. I find after continuous wear that these lipsticks are not so drying that they feel uncomfortable to wear. I also really like the lightness of how this product feels.

Have I told you how I love how it looks?

That’s me in 05 Ole Flamingo

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick in 05

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick in 05 Ole Flamingo

Other than the fact that I’m just not too convinced about the 24-hour hold product claim (unless you don’t intend to eat or drink for that period of time), I have seriously fallen hard for this liquid lipstick from Bourjois. It’s all I have been wearing since I got them last weekend.

Have you tried the Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet liquid lipsticks? What do you think? Let me know in the comments below, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Thanks for reading!

12 comments on “Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick

  1. yorkvillexpress
    April 2, 2014

    so pretty! I love the colors!

    • spattiselanno
      April 7, 2014

      Thanks! This collection really does have lovely shades, do try them out and maybe, if you are so inclined, let me know your thoughts, I’d love to hear them!

  2. Oh they look simply gorgeous! And hooray for no smudging 😀

  3. blissno9
    April 2, 2014

    I want to try these! 😀

  4. budziak
    April 3, 2014

    Pretty! I hate that Bourjois products are so hard to find in the US 😦 I don’t mind shopping online but I feel like I actually need to be on top of tracking if my packages are being shipped from another country. That said, these look great! I love bold colors that stay put, then again, who doesn’t?

    • spattiselanno
      April 7, 2014

      Hi there, it’s such a pity that Bourjois isn’t so easily available in the US 😦 And I know the pains of shipping internationally, sometimes not the best option but what can we do…? The bane of the internet. Honestly, I’m also quite envious of some of the brands you have in the US which aren’t readily available here like Hourglass and Rimmel… anyway, thanks for dropping by and leaving me a comment!

      • budziak
        April 7, 2014

        Let me know if you’d like to do a swap someday 🙂

      • spattiselanno
        April 14, 2014

        Hi there, so sorry for the late reply! I would be thrilled to do a swap with you. What did you have in mind?

  5. Pingback: The ‘I Love Drugstore Makeup’ Tag | anyhowonly

  6. Imp
    June 26, 2014

    👍👍👍👍👍

  7. Pingback: The 'I Love Drugstore Makeup' Tag | anyhowonly

Leave a Reply

