anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Girl with a Pearl Necklace

I always make it a point to celebrate my milestones in life, be it with a gift to myself, a good meal or something far simpler like a commemorative 10K run. See, I have always been a firm believer in commemorating milestones, much like rewarding good work and effort. Small steps but key to continued success.

Most recently, I reached 100 followers both on Bloglovin and on WordPress, and decided that I should celebrate my small success with a gift to myself. I looked around for a short while and while nothing seemed to speak to me directly, I was strangely drawn to a necklace and bracelet set. It wasn’t going to cost me an arm and a leg but I definitely took some time to mull over the purchase mainly because the item in question was none other than a stand of pearls.  You must be thinking, ‘pearls?’

I ride a motorcycle. And pearls are just not something that I would wear on a daily basis – firstly because I am scared to death that the necklace would burst on my daily scooter commute to and from work, and secondly I was afraid that pearls would age me tremendously.

But, I came across so much evidence (online) that convinced me otherwise. Google search turned up so many gorgeous images of pearls and ladies with pearls, I was sold. Of all that I saw, these two stuck me the most.

Jackie Kennedy Quote

Jackie Kennedy quote

Coco Chanel quote

Coco Chanel quote

Then, I started to research how to buy pearls. I found myself look through Youtube videos and I stumbled on a particular channel that featured stories about pearl farming. That was when I fell hard for pearls especially after watching this video.

I learnt that pearls are amongst the oldest and most universal of all gems known to man, and are the only gem made by a living organism. Pearls have been adorned by Kings, Queens and commoners throughout time and have been attributed with great powers. In order to produce pearls, healthy marine life is key. Do watch this video to understand more.

I have been intrigued by pearl farming and marine life ever since I saw this video! And I hope to be able to learn more, visit a pearl farm and maybe dive in a pearl farm one day! I bought that pearl necklace and bracelet set eventually and it looks very much like the set below, sans earring.

What's in a pearl?

What’s in a pearl? (Photo courtesy Quality Jewelry Collections)

Now that I understand a little more about pearls, I do think they are rather misunderstood by the masses. What are your thoughts about pearls?

Here’s one of me wearing the necklace photographed with a friendly neighbourhood companion.

Me and a Doberman

Me and a Doberman

3 comments on “Girl with a Pearl Necklace

  1. Michelle
    April 9, 2014

    I love pearls. I wear pearls almost every day. I think they are a staple item. They are so classic, will never go out of style and honestly can be styled with almost every outfit that I wear. Good purchase.
    xx, Michelle
    http://michelleolthuis.blogspot.com

  2. spattiselanno
    April 9, 2014

    Hello there! I surfed onto your blog and saw photos of your outfits and the pearls. They are just gorgeous! I am now considering another pearl necklace that looks similar to one of yours. Thanks for popping by and sharing!

  3. Rae
    April 10, 2014

    I almost bought myself these but I realized that they’re so not me, and they’re somewhat high maintenance. But pearls arw pearls. Like little black dresses.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 9, 2014 by in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , .
