anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Sleek MakeUP haul & first impressions!

My recent beauty ban hasn’t been going fabulous. This time, I purchased from sleek makeup.com with direct shipping to my doorstep. I have previously tried Sleek Makeup’s iDivine eyeshadow palettes which I purchased from Luxola, but this time round, I was curious what their other product offerings would be like and decided to try buying directly from them.

My package arrived after two weeks, all bubble-wrapped and in perfect condition.

Sleek MakeUP Haul arrived in two weeks shipped directly from the UK

Sleek MakeUP Haul arrived in two weeks shipped directly from the UK

My Sleek MakeUP haul

My Sleek MakeUP haul

I purchased the Face Form in Fair, two Pout Paints in Pinktini and Rosette, and three (matte) True Colour Lipsticks in Amped, Heartbreaker and Pink Freeze. Let’s talk about Sleek MakeUP’s Face Form first.

Sleek MakeUP Face Form

Sleek MakeUP Face Form

The Face Form packaging is in black plastic with a mirror which resembles NARS packaging. The shade I got is Fair. I understand there are currently four shade selections available (Fair to Dark) for this palette which contains a contouring powder, highlighter, and blush. The Fair shade contains a Rose Gold Blush which is a lovely golden peach (I hear is a dupe for NARS’s Orgasm) shade, a light shimmery highlighter and a matte tan shade bronzer.

photo2

Sleek MakeUP Face Form in Fair

Sleek MakeUP Face Form in Fair swatched

Sleek MakeUP Face Form in Fair swatched

I have been wanting something small, compact and portable I could tote it around in my daily makeup bag without the weight and bulk of three items (blush, highlighter and bronzer/ contouring powder), so I liked this immediately.

Now, let’s take a look at the True Colour Lipsticks. They come in black sleek packaging that is slightly smaller than your regular NARS lipsticks and each stick contains 3.5g of product.

Sleek MakeUP True Colour Lipsticks (Matte)

Sleek MakeUP True Colour Lipsticks (Matte)

The three shades I got

The three shades I got

Sleek packaging

Sleek packaging

Sleek MakeUP True Colour Lipstick I got

Sleek MakeUP True Colour Lipstick I got

Sleek MakeUP True Colour Lipsticks shades (L-R) Amped, Heartbreaker and Pink Freeze

Sleek MakeUP True Colour Lipsticks shades (L-R) Amped, Heartbreaker and Pink Freeze

I was slightly intrigued (and worried, I might add) that the shipment I got might have been either expired or is close to being expired as they have condensation spots on them. I know one indication your lipstick is going bad is “sweating,” which is the appearance of oily beads on it. This results in a messy product application. Sweating is often the result of prolonged exposure to heat. I swatched it and somehow it smells like it either gone bad or is going bad soon. I’m not quite sure what to do with them though I think it will be a pity to throw them out. I probably will use them before I decide what to do with them. I will contact Sleek MakeUP about it and see what they have to say about it.

In the meantime though, I must say I love how they feel – creamy and non drying – on my lips. Also, I love the matte finishing and the black packaging and its tinier size.  I am also loving the bright colours on my lips! Here are the swatches on my hand and on my lips.

Sleek MakeUP True Colour Lipsticks shades (L-R) Amped, Heartbreaker and Pink Freeze swatches

Sleek MakeUP True Colour Lipsticks shades (L-R) Amped, Heartbreaker and Pink Freeze swatches

Sleek MakeUP True Colour Lipsticks shades in Amped, Heartbreaker and Pink Freeze

Sleek MakeUP True Colour Lipsticks shade in Amped

Sleek MakeUP True Colour Lipsticks shades in Heartbreaker

Sleek MakeUP True Colour Lipsticks shade in Heartbreaker

Sleek MakeUP True Colour Lipsticks shades in Pink Freeze

Sleek MakeUP True Colour Lipsticks shade in Pink Freeze

Let’s look at the two Pout Paints I got (Pinktini and Rosette). After watching EmilyNoel83’s Youtube video haul of her Sleek MakeUP haul which featured the pout paints, I decided that I needed to try them out. I was in the market for lip stains or liquid lip products that stain and was keen to experiment.

Sleek MakeUP Pout Paint in Rosette and Pinktini

Sleek MakeUP Pout Paint in Rosette and Pinkini

photo5

Sleek MakeUP Pout Paint in Rosette

photo1

Sleek MakeUP Pout Paint in Pinkini

Containing 3ml of product, each Pout Paint comes in a tube and as you can tell, the packaging indicates that the product is not meant to be applied onto the lips directly from the tube, i.e. a lip brush is required.

Sleek MakeUP Pout Paint in Pinkini swatched

Sleek MakeUP Pout Paint in Pinkini swatched

photo3

Sleek MakeUP Pinkini stains

The texture of these Pout Paints is creamy and thick. They feel more creamy than the Bourjois Rouge Velvet and the Lime Crime Velvetines.

Also, I learnt the hard way that a little goes a long way with these Pout Paints. They are very pigmented. And their texture is so much like paint! I also learnt that this product requires precision: a lip application, a steady hand, a mirror, time and patience. And one small drop goes a very long way. Just dot a small amount of Pout Paint onto your choice of applicator, then smooth it onto your lips for vibrant full coverage colour that dries to a satin finish.

Pinkini is a bright (almost florescent) pink but if sheered out, can look really wearable for that pop of colour. Rosette is a more pastel pink which can be sheered out as well for daily wear.

Sleek MakeUP Pout Paint in Pinkini

Sleek MakeUP Pout Paint in Pinkini

Sleek MakeUP Pout Paint in Rosette

Sleek MakeUP Pout Paint in Rosette

For these lip swatches, I kind of overdid the amount of product to use but having said that, I am convinced that the Pout Paint is a highly pigmented lip stain like no other which provides full coverage that is light-weight, non sticky and buildable. However in all honesty, the Pout Paint will probably only work for me if I apply them after I reach the office as these feel like they will smear and feather all over my balaclava and my full-face helmet. So, I guess I won’t have the pleasure of road-testing these babies out as I reckon they don’t dry into lip stains like the Bourjois Velvet Rouge or the Lime Crime Velvetines.

So far, though, I am liking all the products I have purchased but I think only time will tell if I continue to reach for them.

Thanks for reading!

7 comments on “Sleek MakeUP haul & first impressions!

  1. natashamcgarrell
    April 14, 2014

    The lip colours look so great! And I want that contour palette!

    • spattiselanno
      April 15, 2014

      I love how versatile and incredibly pigmented the Pout Paints are. Am going to try and mix up the two shades of Pout Paints I have to get a slightly muted pink… And those lippies are so comfortable to wear, I’m thinking of getting more shades! Thanks for stopping by and leaving me a comment!

  2. Olivia
    April 15, 2014

    Ooo that palette and Heartbreaker are my favorites, the lipstick looks gorgeous on you!!

    • spattiselanno
      April 15, 2014

      Yes, that palette is gorgeous, versatile and so portable! Not stopped using it since I got it… I’m also in love with the lippies and shades! Thank you for dropping by and leaving me such kind words. 🙂

  3. I’ve been eyeing up the face form palettes for ages, but I never know which colour I should get.

  4. Pingback: TGIF: New Feature! Weekly Bests and Suchwhat | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings

  5. Pingback: Sleek Face Form Palette in Light | www.plumpcheeks.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2014 by in Beauty, Shopping and tagged , , , , .
