anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Jamie’s Italian in Vivocity

And so my colleague and I were at it again. This time, we decided to lunch at Jamie’s Italian in Vivocity.

The interior of the restaurant is rather industrial chic with hardwood floors, and wooden chairs paired with workshop-styled tables. At the entrance of the restaurant is a display of items for sale including books, some kitchen paraphernalia like cast-iron cookware, aprons and paddle-like flat pizza boards. I like the decor and its easy-breezy vibe.

The interior was a little too dark for my liking but I do think it would be so fabulous for a romantic casual date. My colleague remarked that the interior is consistent with the outlet he visited in London.

The restaurant was packed the day we were there. The hostess invited us to wait by the bar counter before she sat us after a few minutes.

The menu design is simple and easy to navigate.

20140425-153122.jpg

Jamie’s Italian in Vivocity – Menu

20140425-153438.jpg

Jamie’s Italian in Vivocity

My colleague had the Rump Steak while I ordered the Grilled Chicken. We also had one serving of the Baked Mushrooms.

My homemade lemonade was decent though nothing spectacular. I liked how it tasted.

20140425-153829.jpg

Homemade Lemonade at Jamie’s Italian in Vivocity

Our orders didn’t take long to arrive and we were happy to dig in. Everything was well presented and smelled awesome. Here is the Rump Steak.

20140425-154453.jpg

Jamie’s Italian – Rump Steak

A closer look at the rump steak.

20140425-154735.jpg

Jamie’s Italian – Rump Steak

This was my Grilled Chicken and our Baked Mushrooms.

20140425-154813.jpg

Jamie’s Italian – Grilled Chicken

20140425-154910.jpg

Jamie’s Italian – Baked Mushrooms

We requested for the Rump Steak to be done medium rare. Though it came out too pink for my colleague’s liking he thought the meat tasted sweet and juicy but found it just a bit too chewy.

My grilled chicken was disappointing. The tomato sauce for the chicken was way too salty. The chicken meat was dry and the side of rocket salad was dripping in dressing that was so salty, I had goosebumps tasting it. I was definitely disappointed with the two mains we had.

The saving grace for the meal was really the Baked Mushrooms dish we had. Here’s a closer look of the dish. It was done perfectly: crispy pastry served piping hot in a pan and topped with chewy mozzarella strewn over thick slices of well-cooked, juicy and savoury mushrooms. This was really awesome max. The pastry complemented the mushrooms well and left me wanting more.

20140425-155526.jpg

Jamie’s Italian – Baked Mushrooms

Overall, I didn’t think much of the food at Jamie’s Italian. The service was great: warm, friendly and attentive. On hindsight, maybe I should have ordered a pasta dish instead. But then again, which self-respecting Italian restaurant gets a tomato sauce wrong?

Sadly, I won’t be returning to Jamie’s Italian for a while. Ever been to Jamie’s Italian? What are your thoughts about the restaurant and it’s food? Do share in the comments below, I’d be curious to know.

Thanks for reading!

4 comments on “Jamie’s Italian in Vivocity

  1. backpackerlee
    May 6, 2014

    I am a fellow foodie, and I want to one day try Jamie’s Italian. I enjoyed your review. I am currently chronicling fast food outlets in Singapore, what do you think of my selection? http://backpackerlee.wordpress.com/2014/05/05/the-best-fast-food-in-singapore-part-2/

    • spattiselanno
      May 6, 2014

      Wow! I never knew of PISCO in Singapore! Maybe because I hardly go into Sentosa. What an awesome compilation! Thanks for stopping by and leaving me a comment with your link, it was such an eye-opener to read your post! 🙂

      • backpackerlee
        May 6, 2014

        At Vivocity, my fave place is Le Nu Taiwanese Beef Noodles. Need to get back there soon though to try other things.

      • spattiselanno
        May 7, 2014

        I hardly visit Vivocity so I don’t have a favourite there. Will try out Le Nu and let you know my thoughts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2014 by in Food, Singapore and tagged , , , , .
