anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Triple Three Norwegian Seafood Buffet at Mandarin Orchard

The recently-ended Norwegian Seafood Dinner Buffet at Mandarin Orchard’s Triple Three ran from 17 – 24 April.

After hearing so much about the spread, I was keen to give it a go. Priced at S$128++ per person, this was not going to be a cheap dinner by any means. I had high expectations for the seafood as the promotional materials screamed fresh seafood flown from Norway. Norwegian Guest Chef Markus Dybwad of famed The Fat Duck restaurant, who will tour South East Asia after his stint at the Mandarin Orchard for its “A Celebration of Seafood” buffet was also a great draw to try this buffet out.

In particular, I enjoyed the King Crabs which were fresh and sweet and the scallops. Here’s a look at some items I photographed at dinner. Overall, I don’t think the food was worth its price because of its taste factor. While the seafood was fresh, some items like the oysters were lacking in terms of its taste quality – they weren’t sweet and meaty as I had expected.

Most of the seafood was done Japanese style with sushi and I just prefer to have the fresh seafood items done in a different style. But hey, that’s just me.

photo1

Freshly shucked oysters

photo2

Norwegian Seafood Bouillabaisse

photo3

Scallops

photo4

Fried Octopus Patty

photo6

Egg

photo5

Homemade marshmellow and pralines

I loved the homemade marshmellow and pralines – they were just simply fabulous.  Both guest Chef Markus Dybwad and Mandarin Orchard’s Executive Sous Chef, William Tan, were present the night I had dinner at Triple Three.  It was nice to see both chefs at the buffet and also Chef Dybwad working his magic behind one of the hot stations.

Generally, the service at Triple Three was somewhat lacking of a five-star hotel. When we asked for water, they didn’t give us separate glasses for water. Instead, the service staff poured the water into our existing glasses which still had remnants of soft drinks in it. Mostly, I’m not picky but going by five-star standards, I don’t think that act would be accepted. Just saying… Anyway, those were the pictures. I hope you enjoyed and thanks for reading!

One comment on “Triple Three Norwegian Seafood Buffet at Mandarin Orchard

  1. sounds of tinnitus
    June 30, 2014

    This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more
    of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

Leave a Reply

