anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Sponsored: Bourjois 1 Second Volume Mascara

To be truly honest, I think Bourjois is the ‘bee’s knees’ when it comes to good, affordable base makeup and mascaras and generally, I’m starting to have lots of love for this brand! That being said, I would still call a spade, a spade. So here are my thoughts of the Bourjois 1 Second Volume Mascara.

The lovely people over at Bourjois Singapore were kind enough to send me out their latest 1 Second Volume Mascara to try out.

Its claim – taking its inspiration from professional round hairbrushes, this revolutionary brush design alternates bristles fitted with small wraparound spheres and straight bristles, enabling its brush to coat lashes to the maximum, creating instant volume without clumps!

I definitely had to try it to believe it.

The Bourjois 1 Seconde Volume Mascara comes in standard (non-waterproof with 16-hour hold) and waterproof (24-hour hold). My sample is of the waterproof variety and am happy to report that after my first trial of the product, it didn’t budge when I teared while watching a sappy clip on Youtube (in the office, no less), but did slide off pretty easily with my Covermark Deep Cleansing Oil (makeup-dissolving deep cleansing oil) at the end of the day. I was definitely glad it came off easy with my makeup remover, I really hate having to tug at my eyes in order to remove mascara!

The Bourjois 1 Second Volume Mascara comes in a silver packaging with pastel markings which appeals to me because of its simplicity. Plus, the bright silver packaging makes it so easy to find in my black makeup bag. The tip of tube strangely reminds me of a Chinese Hulu (bottle gourd).

The brush of the Bourjouis 1 Second Volume Mascara really does resemble a small hair brush with its tiny alternating bristles and spheres. I attempted to photograph the brush to show how different it looks from my regular Cyber Colors Ex Volume mascara.

photo1

My feable attempt at photographing the Bourjois 1 Second Volume Mascara brush

photo2

My regular Cyber Colors Ex Volume mascara

photo3

Cyber Colors Ex Volume mascara brush

photo4

Comparing the two: Bourjois 1 Second Volume Mascara brush and the Cyber Colors Ex Volume mascara brush

photo5

Close up: (Top) Bourjois 1 Second Volume Mascara brush vs (Bottom) Cyber Colors Ex Volume mascara brush

Overall, I enjoyed my first application of this mascara, leaving me looking like I had thick lashes. Pardon my short, stumpy lashes but this mascara not only gave me thicker lashes, it also held the curl! Most times, I usually only get one result with mascaras – curl or volume, not both.

However, I would’ve much preferred if the brush holder was ever so slightly longer. But maybe, I’m just used to the length of the Cyber Colors mascara. Here’s a look at the difference in volume – naked lashes vs Bourjouis 1 Second Volume Mascara coated lashes.

My naked lashes

My naked lashes

Bourjouis 1 Second Volume Mascara

Bourjouis 1 Second Volume Mascara

Bourjouis 1 Second Volume Mascara

Bourjouis 1 Second Volume Mascara

So far, I’ve had this mascara for almost one week and have ditched my regular mascara since. I love using the Bourjouis 1 Second Volume Mascara and probably won’t stop using it just yet.

Stocks of the Bourjouis 1 Second Volume Mascara are already in-store and currently retail for S$22 each. 

Once again, I hope you enjoyed this review and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 12, 2014 by in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , .
