anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

The ‘I Love Drugstore Makeup’ Tag

Hello, Everybody! I’m finally back from my holiday and I thought this would be fun to do. This is way, way overdue but I decided to do a tag post today.

Thanks to Rae of Scatterbraintures for the ‘I LOVE DRUGSTORE MAKEUP’ tag! Sorry this post is so late, hun!

My 'I love drugstore makeup' tag!

My ‘I love drugstore makeup’ tag!

1. What is your favorite drugstore makeup brand overall?

Needless to say, those who read my blog regularly, probably already know I think Bourjois cosmetics are pretty great for the price – especially their face and lip products. So, my favourite drugstore brand would have to be Bourjois especially since their latest releases like the Rouge Edition Velvet Lipsticks and their CC Cream are just fab.

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick. Photo Courtesy Autumn Leaves

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick. Photo Courtesy: Autumn Leaves

Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream Foundation

Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream Foundation

For foundations, my go-to would be Revlon’s ColorStay products.

2. What are your favorite face, cheek and lip products?

My favourite face product is the Ben Nye powder but that’s not quite drugstore. A drugstore alternative for me would possibly be the Bourjois Loose Powder. It is finely-milled and lightly scented (smells lovely to me) and sets my makeup perfectly. Only thing is because it’s a loose powder, it’s not great for travelling with. Other than that, I am in love with it!

Bourjois Loose Powder

Bourjois Loose Powder

I’m currently enjoying the Flower Cream blush (review to come).

FLOWER cream blush

FLOWER cream blush

Lips: I love Bite Beauty products but the drug store equivalent (not in texture though) would be the (again) Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipsticks. You must already hate how much I love Bourjois makeup or at least, how I keep going on about their Rouge Edition Velvet Lipsticks.

Wet ‘N Wild Megalast definitely top my favorite matte lipsticks but I’m dying to try out Milani and Rimmel lippies though.

Wet N' Wild Megalast

Wet N’ Wild Megalast

3. Least favourite product?

It’s gotta be Korean BB creams – sorry, I know this is a popular choice amongst most Asian beauty bloggers but somehow, these products aren’t suited for my medium/tanned skin tone AND somehow I think Korean BB Creams aren’t suited for our tropical climate and I find most of these BB creams to be too thick for our humid weather! But hey, that’s just me.

The Face Shop CC Cream

The Face Shop CC Cream

4. What is the best makeup bargain?

Has got to be my haul of Bourjois products at Metro when they were offering 20% storewide + additional 20% off for selected brands.

5. What is your favourite underdog product? (Something you love that often gets overlooked?)

My Korean brow mascara that only cost me S$3.50. I have pretty dark-coloured brows and this helps lighten it so I don’t look so scary or appear to have drawn-on brows.

Korean MMX brow mascara

Korean MMX brow mascara

Or, the CLIO automatic eyeliner – No fuss with sharpeners, plus it’s so creamy to apply and doesn’t budge once it sets. Major love.

CLIO Gelpresso Eyeliner

CLIO Gelpresso Waterproof Pencil Gel Liner

6. A drugstore product that is overpriced?

It has got to be the Maybelline Dream Matte Powder. Whilst I love it, I think it’s a little too much to pay for compact powder. But hey, that’s just what I feel.

Maybelline Dream Matte Powder

Maybelline Dream Matte Powder

If you would like me to review any of the products mentioned here (that I haven’t reviewed) please leave me a comment and I’ll be happy to post a review about it.  Thanks for reading, once again.

2 comments on “The ‘I Love Drugstore Makeup’ Tag

  1. Imp
    May 21, 2014

    👍

  2. Rae
    May 21, 2014

    Totally forgot about bb creams. I don’t like them at all.

Leave a Reply

