anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella

Lately, I have been wanting to try out the ever-classic red lip look and so I started the hunt for a red lipstick shade that would suit my skin tone. It’s been rather tough searching for that blood red which doesn’t end up looking orangey on my somewhat sallow skin until I stumbled on the NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil  in Cruella.

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella

Straight out of the box, this velvet matte lip pencil resembles a chubby stick or crayon design from yesteryears. Apparently, the NARS lip pencils require a special sharpener (available at NARS) as they are slightly larger than the average chubby stick. I have yet to purchase my sharpener but will definitely look into it if I purchase another a few other lip pencils from NARS.

The lip pencil comes in a black matte box with standard NARS markings. The pencil has a black plastic cap that reveals a gorgeous shade of red (Cruella).

“I wanted to create a modern way to wear a very classic matte lip. The creaminess of the texture makes them very easy to wear.” – François Nars

Taken off the NARS website, this lip pencil promises the application of a lipstick combined with the convenience of a pencil in a jumbo crayon design. Lips are instantly saturated with rich pigments and a velvety matte finish. The long lasting, non-drying formula is enriched with emollients for a creamy texture, while a combination of unique silicones ensures long-lasting, seamless color for hours. Use for lining, all-over lip color, or pairing with another lip product.

  • Rich, vivid shades
  • Enriched with Vitamin E
  • Convenient, easy application

Here is a quick swatch of the lip product.

NARS Velvet Lip Pencil in Cruella swatched

NARS Velvet Lip Pencil in Cruella swatched

Cruella is a true, deep blue-based red that is flattering for most skin types without making teeth look yellow.

Cruella is a true, deep blue-based red.

Cruella is a true, deep blue-based red.

Upon application, I noticed how remarkably easy the lip colour glides on. For a matte lipstick, this product  texture is light, feels extremely velvety and is very smooth to apply. Naturally for matte lip products, one expects a certain level of dryness given the product’s longevity. However, with the NARS velvet lip pencil, the product is non-drying and extremely comfortable to wear. The lipstick is also highly pigmented, as seen in the swatch image. Given the design of the lip product, it can be used as both a lip liner and a lipstick, which is convenient and compact for travelling.

The product left a slight stain and some flaky portions on my lips after about five hours of wear but did not feather throughout. Overall, I thought this lip product gave a pretty good ride. Here is my FOTD wearing the NARS Velvet Lip Pencil in Cruella. I do not know why it photographs as orangey-red because in real life, it appears blood red on my skin tone. I really love how it looks.

Face Of The Day - NARS Velvet Lip Pencil in Cruella

Face Of The Day – NARS Velvet Lip Pencil in Cruella

After trying this on, I am fairly certain this would not be my last red lip product. I am definitely considering other shades in this line and also in the satin finish.

Have you got this pencil? What shades would you recommend for someone like me? I’d appreciate your recommendations in the comments below and once again, thanks for reading!

6 comments on “NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella

  1. Jennifer Pamela
    June 4, 2014

    One of my absolute favorite shades! Looks gorgeous against your skin!

    • spattiselanno
      June 9, 2014

      Hi there! Thanks for your lovely comment and for stopping by! Hope to see you around here more often 🙂

  2. Miss Alice Beauty
    June 4, 2014
    • spattiselanno
      June 9, 2014

      Hello! Thanks for stopping by and leaving me such kind words! We use the same blog template, you have such a gorgeous site! 🙂

  3. 1reddiva83
    June 5, 2014

    Very lady like. Its a beautiful color

    • spattiselanno
      June 9, 2014

      Hello there, thank you! I love how it looks and feels, really was a great purchase!

Leave a Reply

