anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask: First Impression

Lately, I have been swimming a ton, switching out from my regular running routine. I have not been able to completely remove all of my makeup before hitting the pool and have been using makeup wipes as an alternative makeup remover. And as such, I have taken away three very important lessons from it:

  1. Makeup remover wipes do not really remove all of one’s makeup
  2. Great skin is the best foundation for any makeup look to really look stunning
  3. One cannot be lazy

As a result of my foolishness, I have suffered from a really bad bout of clogged pores, white heads, big ‘ol honking zits, you name it and chances are, it’s currently living on my face. I started to search for a good detoxifying skincare product that would help remedy my situation and I came across the Mario Budescu line of products which I purchased and have been using ever since. You can read my blog post on that product here.

The second product I came close to trying out was the GLAMGLOW slew of products like the GLAMGLOW SUPERMUD Clearing Treatment and the GLAMGLOW YOUTHMUD Tinglexfoliate.  But I wasn’t prepared to try them out just yet because something else seemed more interesting (read cheaper alternative) to me – the Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask.

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay is bentonite clay from Death Valley, California, sun- dried for up to six months in temperatures that sometimes reach 134 degrees. Made in USA and named “World’s most powerful facial”, the Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay mask contains 100% natural calcium bentonite clay, and is free from additives, fragrances and animal products. The product has received  many rave reviews by popular Youtubers for its deep pore cleansing abilities, removing dirt and impurities from the pores of the skin.

It is said that the Aztec Secret Indian Healing clays have been used for centuries to beautify and refresh when used as a facial mask. Even Cleopatra used clay from the Nile River and the Arabian Desert over 1800 years ago as part of her beauty ritual.

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask

The clay come in a powder form and it is recommended that one mixes the Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay with equal parts of apple cider vinegar or water, in either a glass, pottery or wooden bowl (non-metal container and stirrer preferably). Stir the mixture until is a smooth paste-add more clay or liquid as needed. Apply a 1/8 inch to 1/4 inch thick layer of clay to the face or other areas and let it dry. Drying times vary, but times are generally 5 minutes of delicate skin and 15-20 minutes for normal skin. Users will feel a pulling and tightening sensation! Remove the dried clay by rinsing with warm water. A slight redness may appear after removing the clay which is pretty normal and should disappear in approximately 30 minutes.

I used water to mix the powder into a paste the first time I used this product.

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask mixed into a paste

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask mixed into a paste

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask applied

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask applied

I was rather sparing with the product and didn’t apply the recommended amount the first time round but I will definitely do so for my next application. I must say mixing the mask into a paste had a nice, calming effect on me. And while applying it on, it felt thick, creamy and very nourishing on the skin. I left it on for 20 minutes and went to lie down with the TV on.

Naturally, with most skincare products, there is no instant remedy but the pulsating feeling I got from using this mask made me feel like it was zapping all my pores of all its impurities. The mask started to dry up and I felt like my skin was being pulled in all directions. I couldn’t even open my eye lids completely to get this shot taken, LOL.

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask after 20 minutes

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask after 20 minutes

I washed it off and it felt like my skin had a renewed zest. I can’t say it left my skin clear but it certainly felt like my pores had been unclogged. I’ll keep using this on a weekly basis to see if I see dramatic results over time.

The version I got was the 3.13 lbs (1.42kg) tub from iHerb at S$13. Have you tried this product?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 26, 2014 by in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , .
