anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Cruelty-Free Makeup

Let me preface this post by saying that I am still working out how this choice is going to pan out for me.

I have been thinking of going cruelty-free with my makeup and beauty choices of late, and most recently, I have been incredibly inspired by one lady whom I have been following on Youtube and Instagram – Miss MiuMiu G. Her video discussing her decision to choose cruelty-free makeup really made me think hard about my current choices. Watch her video here:

I haven’t quite researched this in much detail but after looking through the PETA website, a few blogs and watching a few videos, I am fairly certain that I will be steering my choices in that direction in a much more conscious manner, beginning first with a concerted effort to only begin purchasing makeup (and tools) that are cruelty-free. Check out this (click here) 2013 blogpost about cruelty-free makeup by Phyrra with a detailed list. Naturally, that list would need to be updated given that we are now in 2014, but no matter, it is a start.

My current stash of makeup already includes brands that are listed on the PETA list as cruelty-free, and some brands that aren’t listed, so I will move towards finishing products from the non cruelty-free brands and stop repurchases from those brands. However, unlike Miss MiuMiu G, I will not be giving myself a deadline to work towards, as I feel that will only add more pressure to my already stressful life. Instead, I will make the effort to finish the non-cruelty-free makeup and stop repurchasing from said brands.

Here’s a look at some of my eyeshadow palettes.

My (shameful) palette collection

My (shameful) palette collection

It is going to be difficult to give up some products that I have enjoyed using for sometime (some of which have become my HG products) but I guess it is time to shift my beauty paradigm.

What are your thoughts about cruelty-free makeup and choosing cruelty-free beauty products? What is your advice to someone who is beginning her journey towards becoming cruelty-free with her beauty choices?

5 comments on “Cruelty-Free Makeup

  1. I’m pretty much the same as you right now – finishing up the current non-cruelty-free products that I have (which will take ages), which will give me time to find alternatives. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to go 100% cruelty-free regarding skincare though, and foundation maybe because of the nature of my skin.
    But I think trying to be as cruelty-free as possible is a great start 😀

  2. Rae
    July 21, 2014

    I’m glad that you didn’t decide on throwing the non-listed brands out. Because some people did and it doesn’t make sense to me. I think it’s cruel to nature (animals’ habitat) to throw out perfectly functional stuff that you already have.

    • spattiselanno
      July 22, 2014

      Hey Rae, I too don’t understand why people would throw out perfectly good makeup just because they don’t make the cut as cruelty-free products. It’s just seems like such a waste to throw things out. I agree. Are you also moving towards cruelty-free products or are you already on that path?

      • Rae
        July 22, 2014

        I’m still working on ‘not shopping’ 😦 It won’t make sense for me to explore cruelty-free brands right now and buy a lot of them, only for them to sit idle on a desk and eventually get thrown away. I think that’s animal cruelty too, when we harm the environment.

        I’m slowly sticking to my HG stuff, good news is, my HG foundations are Nars and Kevyn Aucoin (my current fave p, both cruelty-free. And it’s fairly easy to find cruelty-free color cosmetics. 😛

        Another good news! China is re-thinking its laws on animal cruelty 🙂

  3. spattiselanno
    July 23, 2014

    That is such great news about China! I really hope it happens. Thanks for the update!

    You are so right about wasting products. Shopping wise, I have been pretty good all of July and haven’t purchased any new beauty products, so I’m hoping to be able to keep this up till year-end. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 30, 2014 by in About Me, Beauty and tagged , , , , , .
