anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Update on Beauty Ban

Here’s a short update on my self-imposed beauty ban in March this year.

I must say I haven’t been terribly good at keeping to my ban since the Great Singapore Sale (GSS – an eight-week sale experience which usually happens between the months of June and July where shoppers enjoy good deals on just about everything, everywhere in Singapore – from fashion to watches, jewelry, electronics, toys and more) arrived in June and I have been enjoying one too many beauty bargains; my pocket is starting to burn from all my indulgences. But no matter, like they say, it is never too late to start. So I will make good and keep to my ban, this time, extending it to an overall shopping ban.

Starting with the Thirty-Day Rule – if I haven’t wanted something for more than 30 days, I am not going to get it. Previously, I have had pretty good success with the Thirty-day rule, a simple method to control impulse spending. Here’s how it works:

  1. When you feel the urge to spend — be it new makeup, skincare or a new bag — force yourself to stop. If that means you have to put down the item in your hand, do it and leave the store.
  2. Once you get home, note down the item, price and store where you found it. Also take down the date.
  3. Post this note somewhere visible: on the fridge, stuck on the mirror, or on an e-post-it on the computer.
  4. Over the next 30 days, really consider if you want the item. And if, at the end of a month, the urge is still there, then consider purchasing it.

Trade/ Buy secondhand stuff – I have been trading more stuff lately and saving quite a fair amount instead of purchasing brand new. But I must get better at selling off my unused items. I will have to start categorising all the makeup items I am going to purge and start to post them up for sale.

Window shopping –  I really have to learn to ‘starve’ my beauty product cravings instead of giving into them so easily. So, that means no more online shopping for me for a short while. I find online shopping always gets me. In fact, I am so serious about this ban, I have ‘unsubscribed’ from electronic mailers and some newsletters even.

I must, I must, I must. I must, reduce my stuff.

Wish me luck!

 

b7663ae9965f650c2b723f632af87d44

 

 

2 comments on “Update on Beauty Ban

  1. These are awesome tips 🙂
    It is definitely super hard for me to resist buying makeup. My most recent temptation is the Maleficent sculpting powder by MAC.
    I always give myself a week, but I think 30 days is better 😀

    • spattiselanno
      July 4, 2014

      Hello there! And yes, I love the Maleficent range too but I have had to stop myself… Glad you enjoyed this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2014 by in Beauty, Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , .
