anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Regrets

To be brutally honest, I miss my old job. I miss my old boss, my job environment and even how we used to lunch in the office. See, I gave up a rewarding job opportunity for what I thought was going to be a fulfilling relationship only to have that relationship burn a hole in my heart. Now, every time I look at pictures of properties from the group I worked for, I reminisce a time when I anticipated challenges – where I was pushed to work more effectively, my brain juices were constantly stimulated and I was challenged to excel in dicey situations. I was constantly busy back then and I really miss it.

In fact, I miss it so much, it’s got me thinking about what’s happened to my passions. I must have let the daily grind take over and lost sight on what truly makes sense to me, career-wise.

Confucius says, “Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” 

I’d like to think that we are who we are and a large part of achievements in our adulthood are measured by milestones in the office. Quite naturally, since we spend a good amount of our waking hours in the office chasing those dreams. I guess, I’ve been experiencing a bad case of what I’d like to call a career existential crisis.

Recently, I read that in order to follow one’s passions, one has to open the inner door to the outer world. And once we do this, we start extending ourselves into the outer world, connecting ourselves with the world will help us see how absurd it is to ask about the meaning of things, and stop us from holding back and move onto what really moves us. So I guess it is time for me to open up into the world. Perhaps, it would be good to look at volunteering in Church or even charity work, or even pick up a new skill or learn a new language.

It is true that it is important to have a direction. As Seneca de Younger once said, “if one does not know to which port one is sailing, no wind is favourable.”

The-meaning-of-life-is-just

 

Ever find yourself in a moment where you let your job define you? What did you do to snap out of it?

2 comments on “Regrets

  1. I’m so sorry you feel like you moved from a great to a bad work environment – that really sucks 😦
    I’ve come to realise that it’s really important for me to enjoy what I do, like the people I work with, and have a professional, supportive work environment.

    I’ve been told in the past (and I think Maya Angelou said something similar too) – if you don’t like the situation change it, and if you can’t change it, change yourself (or the way you process/handle what you don’t like). It’s quite stark, and I don’t always think that things can be so black and white as that, but I don’t know if that helps. I’m usually the kind of person who has things happen to her, rather than being the one who initiates change, but I’m trying to work on that.

    I think new skills or volunteering might really help 🙂

    I hope your feelings about your job will change soon 😀 One spends most of one’s life at work after all, one had better enjoy it (or at least not hate it) xxx

    • spattiselanno
      July 10, 2014

      Thanks for your words of encouragement, it is so lovely to connect with you through the internet! Yes, it is absolutely right in that I should change (either myself or my situation) and like you, I too am learning how to do so better. In the meantime, I will attempt to pick up a new skill! 🙂

Leave a Reply

