anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Is red lipstick appropriate for work?

I love a red lip. God knows how many red lipsticks I have collected in my search to find the perfect shade, finish and texture, for me. So to shake things up for 2015, I decided I was going to start wearing red lipstick, even in the office.

To some, red lipstick falls into the “etiquette breach” category list of things one shouldn’t wear in the office. In fact, to be truly honest, it all boils down to how it is paired. Red lipstick can look right, even in office. In fact, a red lip, with simple, clean and natural makeup looks perfectly appropriate. If I may add, I think it says “take-charge” to me! While I have no need to impress, I really just need to start using up all my makeup!

I have even heard tips like wear red lips for an important meeting or when you want to make a good impression because people will pay attention to your mouth and what you are saying.

If you aren’t so bold, you may want to test waters by wearing a lip stain to the office before you go all out with the matte red lips. Remember to keep a look out for fading, getting lipstick on your teeth, and all that jazz. Here I am with my red lip. This one is MAC’s Ruby Woo which I sheered out. Sorry folks, the light here isn’t great for capturing photos. I tried brightening up the photo and somehow the lip colour ended up appearing more orange than red.

What are your thoughts about wearing red lipstick in the office?

Red lipstick at work

Red lipstick at work

5 comments on “Is red lipstick appropriate for work?

  1. Rae
    January 6, 2015

    On my skin tone, Ruby Woo appears a tiny bit orange.

    Anyway, when I used to work for an accounting firm, red lipstick is a breach of the dress code, but that was around a decade ago. I don’t know if they’re a little more open-minded now.

    • spattiselanno
      January 7, 2015

      At the moment, my office is pretty causal so I think I can get away with a bold red lip. And quite frankly, I’ve really been loving it. Ruby Woo is the deepest, truest red on my skin tone and while it’s slightly drying, I’m obsessed with it.

  2. carrotoh
    January 6, 2015

    I tnink you looked great!

  3. daniellesmakeupbag
    February 23, 2015

    I think you look beautiful and very office appropriate, are you still wearing red lipstick to work?

Leave a Reply

