anyhowonly

.anything two-wheels, travel, food, beauty, fashion and my personal musings.

Use your Apple keyboard on Windows

I have been an avid Mac user since I was in my pre-teens, largely because I have an uncle who has been working for Apple since the 80s. But my first real encounter was with a G5 back in the late 90s when my parents splurged on a new computer for me. That’s when I fell in love with all things Apple but I was an early adopter for my region during a time when most people were still going gaga over Windows.

But working in a corporate environment where the general preference is for Windows, my existing set-up requires me to bang out long documents on a Dell keyboard. Nothing wrong with them, just that I personally think Windows keyboards have a long way to go when it comes to form and function.  I noticed that after spending several hours on my Dell keyboard, my wrists and hands would feel fatigued and productivity would even slip somewhat. Last weekend, while enjoying a cup with a friend, I mentioned the situation in the office with my keyboard and he suggested I try out using an Apple keyboard instead. It baffled me why I this idea hadn’t crossed my mind first but anyway here I am, typing this post out on a my brand new Apple keyboard, during my lunch hour in the office.

The problem with using an Apple keyboard on Windows is that some keys/ functions don’t work – for instance, print screen. I searched out a solution and thought I should just share this in case someone else out there might be experiencing the same problems.

I chanced on nextofwindows with a detailed post on which utility programmes to download and run. Click here for more: Map Apple Keyboard on Windows 7 and Restore Apple Function Keys.  I tried SharpKeys but it didn’t work as well for me so I ended up downloading another recommended utility called AppleWirelessKeyboard which worked like a charm. Click here for more: AppleWirelessKeyboard

If you’re looking for a solution for Windows 7, I recommend you try Apple Wireless Keyboard because I am a super happy camper now.

Using Apple Keyboard on Windows 7

Using Apple Keyboard on Windows 7

2 comments on “Use your Apple keyboard on Windows

  1. Lauren
    January 14, 2015

    I run windows on my computer and this sounds such a good idea! Going to be adding an Apple keyboard to my wishlist 🙂

    • spattiselanno
      January 19, 2015

      I’d have to agree! A stylish ergonomic solution for Windows users!

Leave a Reply

